Churches 1



Twenty years after our American forefathers issued the Declaration of Independence, settlers found temporary residence in Rockport, near the mouth of Rocky River - that was in 1796. The Connecticut Missionary Society sent an ex-soldier of the Revolutionary War, Rev. Joseph Badger, as a Christian messenger to the Western Reserve; in 1800 he preached the first sermon in Cleveland. Used to hardships, he bestrode his horse to follow trails leading to pioneers who needed his service.

The first settler to come to East Rockport - our Lakewood - to stay was James Nicholson. In 1810 when he built his log cabin, he was the only settler between the Cuyahoga River and Rocky River. Before his cabin was finished he went off to the War of 1812, leaving alone in the wilderness his wife and two small children. In the year 1813 there were meetings in a log schoolhouse, near the present Cannon avenue, for worship and religious teaching, conducted by those who later organized a congregation (now named the Church of the Redeemer). Scholarly Mars Wagar, came from New York to the Western Reserve in 1818, located in Rockport in 1820. He was a Harvard graduate, who had lost faith in the Christian religion. James Nicholson led him back to faith, and works. Mr. Wagar and his wife Keturah Miller Wagar, gave land for the church and parish house located at Detroit and Andrews avenues. In 1835 a frame building was erected there, and the congregation was organized. It was available then to the few people, and stands today - behind the newer structure can be seen the original building - near the heart of our city.

The churches have ever held an important place in this fortunate locality. They are more truly than many realize, at the heart of the city's - any city's - life. Especially in such a rare "city of homes" as Lakewood is, do the churches mean a great deal. Those pioneers of the early days hereabout, recognized God, their need of Him, their blessings from Him. Even before "East Rockport" (Lakewood, later) had a name, it had its ministers and religious services. It was in February 1819, the name East Rockport was first given. And for seventy years, there was little settlement to name, at all. In August 31, 1889, the Hamlet of Lakewood came into existence; with a population of 450. Fourteen years later, May 4 1903, came the incorporated Village of Lakewood with 3,500 population. The federal census of 1910 showed 15,000 here; more than were needed to become an incorporated city - which did occur February 17, 1911. The phenomenal growth of our city carried forward the population to 70,000, by 1930; and to some 75,000 in 1933. And through all, at the heart of things, the churches stand to promote the best things in life.

The statement has been made, that in proportion to its length there is more footage of church property on Detroit avenue in Lakewood, than on any other street of any city anywhere. It would be nearly impossible to check up such a claim; but surely Detroit avenue might well be named "Church Street." Going westward from 117th street to West Clifton Boulevard, no less than sixteen buildings for religious uses are on this thoroughfare. And Madison avenue between Lakewood avenue and Hilliard road, has its seven such edifices. And nine other churches are found in other parts of this favored city. A total of not less than thirty-two churches, with as many as seventeen different denominational relationships - have we.

Our churches are about our best asset - "putting it mildly!" We are pleased to have some 2800 pupils in the coming fall term, after 55 years of fine service; and with our three Junior high schools, and our ten elementary schools. A total of 10,200 pupils in all our schools. Yet, half our 32 churches, those facing Detroit avenue, total a membership enrollment of about 15,000; and their teachings are of even more vital importance than secular education of our day schools.

We have our four bank and five savings and loan companies in Lakewood. There are about an even fifty restaurants. Some thirty-four filling stations (yesterday!!) These are important, valuable. We have some 92 liquor-selling places, which some of us think are anything but assets. But, for permanence, for constructive usefulness, for atmosphere that gives uplift and that adds "wealth" that does not quickly fade away, which of our institutions comes near our churches in their products? Our churches are our "biggest business" in lovely Lakewood, even when one considers the money invested in them. We read, in the years gone by, of the costs of church buildings being dedicated: $200,000 for the new structure of the Lakewood Methodist Church, when its present building was erected; $110,000 for the present church home of the Detroit Avenue Methodist Church; $175,000 for the Lakewood Congregational Church; $75,000 for the new structure of the Lakewood Presbyterian Church, in 1918; "a quarter of a million dollars" for the edifice at Arthur and Detroit built by the First Church of Christ Scientists; not less than $225,000 the cost of the Lakewood Christian Church. This, to specify the investments in a half dozen of our 32 churches. What vast sums many have contributed gladly because they felt their money was being well and safely and permanently invested. This truth let us add, that such investments of money ought to have added thereto more frequents use of such valuable properties by more people. Available for use in leading many to better things, they should be filled to a capacity frequently, by thousands who appreciate what - and Whom - they represent.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 7, 1918 Pg. 9

Baptist, First

Catholic, St. James

Catholic, Madison Avenue


Christian Science

Church of the Redeemer

Episcopal, Church of the Ascension

Episcopal, St. Peter's

Lutheran, Pilgrim, English

Lutheran, English Evangelical

Lutheran, St. Paul's

Methodist Episcopal, First

Methodist Episcopal, Detroit Avenue

Presbyterian, First

Methodist, Episcopal, Rocky River

Presbyterian, Grace Chapel

Presbyterian, United

United Brethren

16:3 WEST SUBURBS' CHURCHES HARD HIT, Lakewood, Rocky River Damage Is High


By Richard Wagar Church Editor

Damage totaling thousands of dollars was done to more than a dozen churches of Lakewood and Rocky River in the storm Saturday night.

Several Protestant churches were forced to cancel or curtail their worship services yesterday.

St. Christopher's Catholic Church, 20141 Detroit Road, Rocky River, suffered extensive damage that will keep its parochial school closed for "two or three days," according to the pastor, the Rev. Edmund J. Ahern.

The chimney of the school fell through the roof into the classrooms. Winds tore half the roof off the rectory. It smashed the rose window in the front of the church and all the windows on the east side of the church. Rain and dirt were blown against the interior walls of the nave.

Priests and Laymen Toil

Two automobiles parked in a garage adjacent to the rectory were damaged, also.

Father Ahern, his two assistants and some 10 laymen of the parish worked from 4:30 to 6:30 yesterday morning cleaning up the interior of the church so that the regular schedule of masses began at 7 a.m.

At Rocky River Methodist Church a chimney in the older section of the building toppled through the roof, wrecked 10 pews in the main auditorium and fell into the basement below. A double garage at the custodian's home next door was overturned. The garage was empty.

Services were held in the dining room of the new part of the church.

Old Lakewood Church Hit

The church organist, Graham Marsh, and his wife were in the sanctuary at the time of the disaster, but escaped injury.

Lakewood's oldest church building, the rear part of the Church of the Redeemer (Swedenborgian), 15120 Detroit Avenue, suffered damage that may be irreplaceable, according to the pastor, the Rev. Albert Diephuis, when stained glass windows were smashed.

Several art windows in the church proper were destroyed, also. Because of the damage, no services were held yesterday, but they will be resumed next week, the minister said.

The steeple was blown off SS. Philip and James Catholic Church, 3727 Bosworth Road S. W. Brick and stone on the front of the church, which was built in 1951, were scarred by the falling debris. Masses were held as scheduled.

Church Roofs Opened

Slates blown from the roof threatened to leave the interior of the church open to rains, according to the pastor, the Rev. James H. O'Brien. Everything movable was stripped from the altar and sanctuary in case of rain, he said.

Lakewood Methodist Church closed off the annex to its sanctuary because of a broken skylight. Several windows in the recreation hall were smashed. Shingles were ripped off the roof.

Hymns were read instead of sung at Trinity Lutheran Church, 16400 Detroit Avenue, Lakewood, because there was no power to operate the pipe organ, the Rev. J. Louis Wolf, pastor, reported. Winds destroyed the chimney, which wrecked a section of the slate roof, he added.

At SS. Peter and Paul Lutheran Church, 13208 Madison Avenue, Lakewood, the front doors were blown to the street and an electric cross valued at $1,000 was blown from the top of the church.

Several stained glass windows and tiling on the dome of SS. Cyril and Methodius Catholic Church, 12608 Madison Avenue, Lakewood, were damaged.

Some Freak Accidents

In a freak accident a no-parking sign was blown through a window of Bosworth Road Presbyterian Church.

A new $400 bulletin board on the lawn of Grace Presbyterian Church, Rosewood Avenue at Hilliard Road, Lakewood, was destroyed.

Trees were reported blown down in the yards of a number of other churches of the area.

The Salvation Army said plate glass windows were blown out of its Thrift Stores at 9312 Lorain Road and at 4255 Pearl Road S. W.

Elders of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints organized crews to help their West Side Members who suffered property damage at their homes.



The Baptist Church organized May 27,1832, with the following members: Gideon Watrous, Royal Millard, John Dike, Fanny Watrous, Amelia Robinson, Sarah Herrington, Anna Millard, Lydia Pike and Fanny M. Nicholas.

Six years and harmony was not spelled with a capital "H". A division occurred on doctrinal differences. The dissenters withdrew and organized a church on the west side of the river and hired Rev. Moses Ware as a settled minister. This separate organization did not endure for long. In 1842 the dissenters returned to the mother church. For some time after their return the church prospered. Many members were added and a commodious church called the Tabernacle was built. This was in 1846.

In 1847, a year later, for what cause the annals do not disclose, meetings were abandoned, and in 1850 a few met in the Tabernacle and formally dissolved. The Tabernacle was given over to the free use of other religious denominations and was usually in use on Sunday. Groups of Baptists would occasionally gather, but the church was never reorganized.



This body was organized May 27, 1832 with the following members: Gideon Watrous, Royal Millard, John Dike, Fanny Watrous, Amelia Robinson, Sarah Herrington, Ann Millard, Lydia Dike and Fannie M. Nichols.

In 1838 a dissension arose, when several members withdrew and organized a new church on the opposite, or west, side of the river. The dissenters engaged Rev. Moses Ware as a settled minister, but their separate organization lasted only a short time. About 1842 they returned to the mother church.

The latter received from 1832 to 1847, one hundred and twenty-five members, but in the last named year the congregation had so far declined in strength that regular worship was abandoned. A further lapse of two years, failing to disclose any renewed vitality, the few remaining members met on the 20th of February, 1850, and formally voted to dissolve the organization. A commodious meeting-house had been erected by the society in June, 1846. this house of worship -- long known as "the Tabernacle" -- has, since 1850, been given over to free public use for religious worship, public entertainments, etc., and has for many years been in active demand, especially on Sabbath days. The Baptists gathered from time to time, after 1850, for worship in the tabernacle, and had frequent preaching about 1860 and afterwards but no reorganization of the church has been effected



Within the ten years following 1830, were founded two churches, which at first seemed to be vigorous and promising, but which lived less than twenty years. A Baptist Church was started May 27, 1832, with nine members. Six years later, several members withdrew and organized a church west of Rocky River, but returned to the mother church about four years later. Within fifteen years, one hundred and twenty-five members had been added, but from that time on, the church for some reason so declined in strength that in 1850, the organization was dissolved. In 1846, a roomy structure at the corner of Warren Road and the present Hilliard Boulevard was finished, which after the dissolving of the Baptist organization, was for many years known as the "Tabernacle". The present home of Mr. Arthur Barber marks the site. After 1850, various groups including the Baptists continued to hold religious services there. It was also used as a community house for public debates and for talks given by wandering lecturers.


The Lakewood Baptist Church was organized November 1, 1905, with 27 members. Meetings had been held in the homes of those interested for weeks prior to its formal organization, and a chapel had been erected by private subscription. Later a lot was purchased at Detroit and Lincoln and plans have been made for a new edifice at that place.

The first pastor was Rev. Cyrus Eaton, who was followed by Rev. Proctor, Rev. J.W. Weddell, Rev. G.W. Beers and Rev. T.W. Powell.

LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 7,1918 pg. 11

The present organization of the Baptist church in Lakewood dates back to the summer of 1904. At that time some of the members of that denomination living in this place got together for a conference in reference to establishing a church in Lakewood. The movement was popular at once, and soon twenty-three Baptists were ready to form themselves into a regularly organized Baptist church. This took place October 1, 1905. Before that time meetings had been held in various homes of the people. In June of 1905 a lot was purchased on Detroit across from Grace Avenue. The first meeting place of the organization was a small building back of the present United Presbyterian church on the corner of Lakewood and Detroit Avenues. This building was shared with the Presbyterians, the Baptists having it afternoons of Sundays and some evenings of the week. The plan worked well and the best of feeling was present between the two churches. In the spring of 1906 the chapel was built on the lot across from Grace, the same being dedicated April 29, 1906.

The work prospered from the first and soon the new chapel was filled with enthusiastic people and the work advanced rapidly.

It was soon felt, however, that the building was located too far to the east in Lakewood, and a movement was started to purchase a lot farther west. This was accomplished in October, 1910, and the present fine lot on the east corner of Lincoln and Detroit Avenues was bought.

The church thus far has had seven pastors. Rev. T.J. Edwards was the first one to lead this people. The next one was a layman, Mr. Cyrus Eaton, now an influential business man of Cleveland. Under him the work advanced well. Rev. H. Proctor succeeded him, but only for a few months as his health failed and he soon passed to his reward. Rev. J.W. Weddell, D.D., came next and for two years led the people in a successful work. Rev. G.A. Beers followed him in a three-year pastorate, and Rev. T.J. Powell, D.D., had a one-year pastorate. The present pastor, Rev. I.N. DePuy, came in September of 1914.

The church numbers nearly 200 members at present. The organization is thriving. The new building enterprise on the fine lot at the corner of Lincoln and Detroit was started in the spring of 1917. The first unit only of the building was planned for. It was to be the social unit. This has been completed at a cost of $22,000 and was dedicated Sunday, February 24,1918. The basement is a well equipped plant, with high ceilings, and full layout of pantry, kitchen and all things necessary for successful work. The new structure will cost about $75,000 when completed, and plans contemplate a fine Sunday school on the rear of the building at some future time. Services will be held in this unit until the rest of the building is completed. There is a splendid unit in the membership, and the prospects are excellent for an advancing and aggressive work.

Strangers are ever welcome, and their motto is, "You are a stranger here but once".


HISTORY OF CUYAHOGA COUNTY - C. Johnson - 1879 Pg. 506

A Free Will Baptist church was organized in Rockport about 1840, and in 1843 included the following members: Obadiah Munn and wife, John Warren and wife, Jeremiah Gleason and wife, Joseph Coon and wife, Prosser Coon and wife, J.M. Plimpton and wife, Thomas Alexander and wife, Israel Kidney and wife, James Kidney and wife, Sarah and Joseph Hall.

Elder Reynolds, the first minister, preached until about 1847. He was succeeded by Elder Prentiss but afterward returned and preached a second term. After him Elders Beebe, Pelton and others supplied the pulpit. After worshiping in schoolhouses until 1846, the congregation built a church on Hilliard Avenue, opposite where Good Templar's Hall now stands. At no time very prosperous, the society declined materially in strength for two or three years previous to 1858, and in that year was dissolved. The church building served until 1877 as a place of worship for various denominations, when it was purchased by Mr. F. Wagar, who removed it to his farm and converted it into a storehouse.



The Free Will Baptist Church was organized in 1840 and its original membership indicates that the families who constituted its roster were of the same mind and husband and wife were not divided. They were Obadiah Munn and wife, John Warren and wife, Jeremiah Gleason and wife, Joseph Coon and wife, Israel Kidney and wife, J.M. Plimpton and wife, Thomas Alexander and wife Israel Kidney and wife and Sarah and Joseph Hall. The first minister was Elder Reynolds.

Following him after seven years of service were Elders Prentiss, Beebe and Pelton in their order.

This church held services in schoolhouses until 1846, when a church building was built at Detroit Street and Hilliard Avenue. The church declined and in 1858 was dissolved. The building was afterwards used by various religious organizations, and then sold to F. Wagar who moved it to his farm for use as a farm building.


(Editor's Note - This is the second of a series of historical accounts of Protestant and Catholic churches in Lakewood and the West Shore which will appear in The Post during coming weeks.)

The Men's Class of The Lakewood Baptist church hold their class sessions every Sunday morning in the Y.W.C.A. a few doors down from their church at Lincoln and Detroit.

This fact readily shows how this church has grown from its 23 charter members who organized this house of worship on October 1,1905. Mrs. William M. Martin of Highland Ave. and Mr. and Mrs. A.E. Shaw of Beechwood drive, are the charter members who are still active in the church.

The membership has jumped from the original 23 to the present 750 with an additional enrollment in the Sunday school of 400. The church is now raising money for a future religious educational building to alleviate their crowded Sunday school situation which now makes it necessary for five classes to meet in the auditorium and one in the choir loft.

This congregation has been led by ten ministers, including the present pastor, since its beginning when their meetings were held in the United Presbyterian Chapel at the corner of Lakewood and Detroit Aves.

From April, 1906 to February 24, 1918 this congregation held services in their own chapel located on the north side of Detroit opposite Grace Ave.

They purchased a parcel of land at the present site in October, 1910, and eight years later dedicated the basement unit of the present church. Their services, were held in this basement church for five years until the present $107,500 edifice was dedicated on Sept. 23, 1923. This congregation worked for 16 years to pay off their debt: and on Feb. 5, 1939, they celebrated the burning of their mortgage.

Today, the Lakewood Baptist church is free of any indebtedness and is looking forward with its present young preacher, Robert N. Zearfoss, to the day they might build larger quarters to house their growing church.



Editor's note: This is the sixth in a series of historical account of churches in Lakewood and the West Shore which will appear in The Post during coming weeks.

Four generations of buildings of St. Cyril and Methodius Slovak Catholic Church stand today on the property purchased at 12608 Madison Avenue. These buildings show objectively the progress of this congregation which has outgrown three churches and now occupies a forth since it was established in Lakewood in 1902.

The original 80 families of this church met in what is now the Sister's Home. Rev. Charles J. Ouimet celebrated the first mass, and the total collection on that first Sunday amounted to $11.33.

This mission church was served by many priests including Father Koudelka, who later died as Bishop of Superior, Wis. Monsignor Zlama, now pastor of Our Lady of Lourdes, and Father Neutich, a German army chaplain.

The weddings of Mr. and Mrs. Ignatius Kadlubak, and Mr. and Mrs. Michael Snahnican, and the baptism of Elizabeth Misencik were the first to be recorded. They are all members of this congregation today.

The Rev. Thomas Ballon came as a resident pastor in 1905 when a combination school and church building was constructed. This building was used for eleven years until additional property was purchased on Alameda avenue, and a new school and the present pastor's house were built. The church services were held in the basement of this school building. In 1908 Rev. A.J. Masat came and officiated until his resignation nineteen years later.

The forth and present St. Cyril and Methodius church was erected in 1931. The debt of $230,000 for this beautiful building of Italian Romanesque and French Renaissance architecture has been cleared.

Today the church records 1100 families in the parish, 480 children in the school, six sons of the parish in the priesthood, and 28 girls in convents. The annual income has been increased in the past forty years from a sum of $1300 to over $67,000.

Monsignor F.J. Dubosh has been pastor since 1927.


PLAIN DEALER July 8, 1963

SS Cyrils and Methodius Church, Slovak Catholic parish in Lakewood, observed a four-fold anniversary yesterday.

The four causes for rejoicing, as Msgr. Francis J. Dubosh, the pastor since 1927, explained at a luncheon, were the 60th anniversary of the founding of the parish, the similar anniversary for the establishment of the first Catholic Church in Lakewood, the 1,100th anniversary of the coming of SS Cyril and Methodius to convert the Slovak nation and the feast day of the two saints.

The celebration began with two solemn pontifical masses of thanksgiving in the church, 12608 Madison Avenue. Msgr. Dubosh officiated at the first mass. the sermon and the vernacular prayers were in Slovak. Priest-sons of the parish assisted him. The parish school glee club sang.

At the second mass, the sermon and prayers were in English. Auxiliary Bishop John F. Whealon officiated, assisted by former assistant pastors of SS. Cyril and Methodius. A special jubilee choir of 50 voices sang a cantata composed by David Gooding, professor of music at Lake Erie College.

Members of the Knights of Columbus and the parish unit of the Catholic War Veterans escorted processions into the church before each mass.

Present at the luncheon were 40 priests, including pastors of many neighboring parishes, 65 nuns and 100 other guests. About 500 attended the evening banquet, including five charter members of SS. Cyril and Methodius, Andrew Stupiansky, Florian Gombarick, Joseph Sasala, Charles Beganyi and Adam Gluvna.

Speakers included Mayor Frank P. Celeste of Lakewood, Msgr. Dubosh and the Rev. Bernard Slimak, O.S.B., and the Rev. James A. Yarvorsky, both sons of the parish, and five parishioners. George E. Fedor, former Lakewood law director, was master of ceremonies.

The occasion also served as a farewell to the Rev. Joseph H. Piskura, assistant pastor, who is leaving this month to enter the U.S. Army as a chaplain.


LAKEWOOD PRESS - BY E.J.K. - March 7, 1918 Pg. 9

The history of St. James' Roman Catholic parish is a unique record of struggle and achievement. In the ten years of its existence it has enjoyed a period of growth and expansion which is almost unprecedented in the annals of the Cleveland diocese. On July 1, 1908, Rev. Michael D. Leahy was recalled from his pastorate at Shelby, Ohio, and was instructed to found a parish for the benefit of the rapidly increasing number of Catholics in Lakewood. It was a momentous undertaking, with nothing more definite than the boundaries of his new field. Previously, Catholic residents were obliged to attend parishes in the city in the fulfillment of their religious duties. A first canvas of the district showed about 65 Catholic families resident therein. To accommodate these a store room was rented in the O'Donnell block at the corner of Westwood and Detroit Avenues, which served as a chapel for six months. As the number of parishioners increased, this space proved inadequate, and another chapel was secured by renting a hall on Detroit Avenue near Warren Road. One Mass was held at each place on Sundays, and as the latter site was sufficient for the young congregation, at least for the time being, the Westwood Chapel was closed. All services were held in the new quarters during the next four years.

In the meantime the parish grew considerably, and the duties of attending the widely scattered flock soon proved a very considerable burden, and Father Leahy was given an assistant, in the person of the Rev. Edward F. Sullivan, at present assistant, at St. Patrick's church, corner Bridge Avenue and Fulton Road. It was soon evident that some permanent location must be secured, as the parish was beginning to feel the impetus of a new growth in keeping with that of the city itself. Various locations were considered, and in the spring of 1912 the present property was purchased. The choice was an extremely happy one, as the facilities for the erection of a complete parish plant were clearly evident. It has a frontage of 323 feet on Detroit Avenue, and 303 feet on Northwood, and bounded on the East by Granger Avenue. The fact that the transfer was in cash is a genuine tribute to the ability and enterprise of the pastor and the generous good will of its parishioners. Three houses stood upon the property. One has since served as the rectory, and has recently been enlarged. The other two were successively converted into a chapel and the first school, and are at present occupied by the Sisters who have charge of the teaching.

The Warren Road chapel was retained until an auditorium could be constructed on the new property, and one of the houses on Granger Street was also remodeled so that Mass could be said at both places, one during the week, and two on Sundays. This house also served as the first school. This was in accordance with the usual scheme of missionary endeavor of the Catholic Church. She aims to inculcate the fundamentals of education into the minds of her children coordinately with the principles of religious training, and thus to insure their future spiritual and material well-being.

In the summer of 1912 ground was broken for a new combination building, containing chapel, school, and auditorium, and of such dimensions as to safeguard the needs of the parish for an indefinite period. The cornerstone was laid by Bishop Farrelly in the following spring. The basement auditorium, accommodating more than 700 people was first completed, and served as a chapel until the super-structure was ready for occupancy. The dedication of this building took place on October 12, 1913. The new school was completed simultaneously. At that time it comprised four rooms, accommodating approximately 150 pupils. It was intended to enlarge this section in time, and in 1915, another addition was begun, bringing the number of rooms to sixteen.

St. James parish is still in the midst of magnificent growth. Its expansion has been not only physical, but it has become a social factor of no little value to the community. The fact that coordination of effort is the surest means of furthering the interest of any society has not been disregarded. For this reason, various societies have existed in the parish from the first days of its existence. Among them might be numbered the Altar and Rosary Society, Catholic Knights of Ohio, Young Ladies' Sodality, Saint Vincent de Paul Society, a charitable organization: Ladies Catholic Benevolent Association, Apostleship of Prayer, Holy Angels Sodality for children, and the Naval Marine Cadets. Entertainments and socials are consistently encouraged.

The St. James school is a source of distinct pride to the parish. As it now stands it accommodates 450 pupils, presided over by ten teachers of the Sisters of the Humility of Mary. Every branch of fundamental education is developed along the most experienced lines of teaching. The study of art in crayon and water color is a comparatively new addition to the curriculum, but very satisfactory progress has already been made. The music school has enjoyed a most consistent growth, and now numbers more than 120 pupils.

Among the newer features is a branch of the Naval Marine Cadets, which is a source of particular delight to the boys. At the charter meeting 80 applied for admission. Its object is to teach the fundamentals of military training, and at the same time affords them the pleasures of our door life in camp and field.

The Sunday school is a branch of the general system of education which is in a most flourishing condition. It is confined to the children alone, and boasts an enrollment in excess of 550.

Tentative plans are being considered for the erection of a new church to be built upon the corner of Detroit and Granger Avenues. This edifice will be a gem of church architecture, and will combine the best points of artistic beauty with the most advanced ideas of convenience in structure and equipment. It will add a touch of distinct beauty to Detroit Avenue, as it will be visible for many blocks on the eastern section of the street.

Father Leahy is still at the head of the parish, toiling with the same ambitious spirit and executive efficiency as in the days of its infancy. He has had the able assistance of several curates in his pastorate, for the field is a large one. The first assistant, Rev. Edward F. Sullivan, was succeeded in 1914 by Rev. Joseph J. Mullen, D.D., fresh from the American college, Rome, Italy. He in turn was superseded by Rev. Edmund J. Ahern, the present assistant.

In the early days of his pastorate, Father Leahy was at times assisted by priests from the various parishes and institutions of Cleveland. Chief among these was Rev. James M. McDonough, professor of moral theology in St. Mary's Seminary. He still acts in that capacity and has duly merited the love and regard which the faithful are accustomed to bestow upon the guardians of their souls.



Twenty-eight years ago, members of the Catholic faith within the present boundaries of Lakewood had to attend church in old St. Mary's Church in a section of Rockport Township which was later known as West Park until St. James Parish was founded in 1908 of the month of July on the present site of the O'Donnell block, 15607 Detroit avenue where on July 5 of that year, the first mass was said.

The Rt. Rev. Ignatius Hortsmann, then Bishop of Cleveland Diocese designated the Rev. M.F. Leahy to undertake the foundation of this new congregation and act as its first pastor.

Rev. Leahy so far as can be ascertained pioneered the Catholic faith within the present boundary lines of Lakewood and as the city began to expand in population, other Catholic churches in the area were founded, namely St. Cyril and Methodius Church, Madison and Lakewood avenues with Rev. F.J. Dubosh as pastor; St. Clement's Church, Madison avenue at lincoln, with Rev. Joseph J. Schmidtt; with St. Luke's Church, Bunts road and Clifton boulevard, with Rev. James A. Hefferman as pastor.

Over the present Lakewood boundary line, at its eastern extremity was St. Rose's Church where Father Stewart served as pastor in the church's early history, wherein many Lakewoodites attended services, before the establishment of other parishes in Lakewood. In later years many Catholics in Lakewood moved into Rocky River wherein St. Christopher's Church was established at 20141 Detroit Road with Rev. R.J. Patterson as pastor.

Rev. Leahy of St. James Parish in its early history organized the forces of the faithful into societies which co-operated with him in various duties tending toward the growth of the church. Chief among them was the St. James Charter Guild with L.J. Haessley as chairman; M.J. Tracy, secretary and C.L. Walton, treasurer. Its object was to solicit funds to enable the pastor to carry on his work.

A committee was then named to assist in the progress of the first Catholic church in Lakewood composed of John Feighan, C.P. Bechler, Thomas Lyon, N.J. Stringer, T.J. Leahy, with a sub-committee as follows: John Kenny, P.J. Rawley, W.T. Seaborn, A.P. Dolwick, D.W. Lyon, and C.T. O'Leary.

Other societies important in the growth of St. James Parish were the Young Men's and Ladies Sodality; the Young Men's Reading Circle; and the St. James Chapter of the Catholic Ladies' Benevolent Association.

Father C.H. LeBlond who was the leader of St. Anthony's Home for Boys assisted Rev. Leahy in those arduous days to aid in the parish's growth. Rev. LeBlond is now Bishop of one of the largest dioceses in the State of Ohio.

The present site of St. James Church known as the old Cannon property was purchased on March 19, 1912 and the year 1913 remains a memorable one for the parish when at that time work under a permanent parish plant was begun. The nucleus was combination school, church and auditorium and on June 28, 1913, a contract was let for construction.

On Tuesday, May 21, 1935 colorful ceremonies marked the blessings of the walls of the present beautiful St. James Church. It is one of the best examples of church art in Greater Cleveland and for that matter the entire country. Not only is it noteworthy because of its artistic beauty, but what is more important its interior has that elusive quality known as devotional atmosphere. Students of Christian art whether Catholic or non-Catholic will find this new church unique in that it is the most complete example of the use of Christian symbolism in existence.

We can recall, in our visit to the church with Rev. Leahy no church in America and none in Europe in which so comprehensive a scene of symbolic decoration has been carried out.

Rev. Michael E. Leahy deserves to sit back in pride and reminisce over a happy dream which ended in the completion of this beautiful new church in 1935 after 27 years of conscientious service to his church.



One of the most progressive and rapidly growing church congregations in Lakewood is the St. James R.C. Church, at detroit and Granger Avenues. This congregation was first founded in July, 1908, at which time some eighty families living in and about Lakewood were given into the charge of Rev. Father Michael D. Leahy, the first and only pastor, with the hope that he might be prospered in his work of building an aggressive and prosperous church.

Rev. Leahy came to Cleveland from a successful work at Shelby, Ohio, to build a church in Lakewood. At first masses were said in a store room near the Detroit and Warren Road corner; later a hall nearby was found inadequate; and still later a lot was purchased and the present handsome St. James Hall erected.

From the first the work prospered in Lakewood. Within a short time Rev J.M. McDonough was sent to assist Father Leahy, and in May, 1912, Rev. Edward F. Sullivan was appointed curate and began stated work at St. James.

The congregation has increased from eighty families at the inception to over 350 at the time of the dedication some six years later. Three strong, active societies are at work in the parish proper: St. James Guild for men, Altar and Rosary Society for women, and Young Ladies' Sodality for the younger women and girls of the congregation. A parochial school was established in 1912, under the auspices of the Sisters of Humility and Mercy. This is now a strong school, with 16 class rooms, and is making commendable progress.

St. James Hall, a fine school structure, has a handsome auditorium for temporary church services. The usual services contingent on an active, vigorous church work are carried on here, and the congregation is making a rapid growth. The parish house nearby is a handsome and commodious home edifice. There is still ample room for a large and stately church structure, to be built later on the site owned by the congregation, which will face on Detroit Avenue and provide one of the most complete and imposing church homes within the city of Lakewood.



Rev. Daniel T. Gallagher is Named by Archbishop

Appointment of Rev Daniel T. Gallagher as pastor of St. James Church, Detroit and Granger Avenues, Lakewood, to succeed the late Monsignor Michael D. Leahy was announced yesterday by Archbishop Joseph Schrembs.

Father Gallagher has been pastor of St. Stephen's Church at Niles, O., since 1929. Born in Cleveland he attended St. Malachi's and St. Patrick's parochial schools, St. Ignatius College and St. Mary's Seminary. He was ordained by Bishop John P. Farrelly on May 29, 1915. His assignments have been as assistant at Holy Name, Cleveland, and St. Mary's Painesville, and as pastor at Geneva, O., and Niles. He was chaplain in the first World War.

Father Gallagher is the son of the late Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Gallagher, pioneer members of St. Malachi's Parish. The appointment is effective Friday.



This German Catholic organization worships in a fine brick church edifice in the German settlement, close to the southern line of the township. The first church building, a plain framed structure, was completed in 1854, when about fourteen families attended services. The congregation includes now thirty-three families. Fathers Graessner, Kuhn, Miller and Kuhbler, with others, have served the church since its organization. The brick edifice, now in use, was built in 1867, at a cash cost of about $8,000--although its actual value--by reason of volunteer labor was much more. The present trustees are George Betts, Jacob Ammersback and Mehurad Nicholas. The officiating priest is Father Kuhbler.



Saint Mary's Church, a German Catholic organization, was perfected, and a frame building erected in 1854 with fourteen families.

After its membership had more than doubled, a fine brick church was built.

Father Kuhbler was for some time the officiating priest, and among the trustees have been George Betts, Jacob Ammersbach and Mehurad Nicholas.




This church, which has a house of worship in the southern part of Rockport, is an Irish Catholic organization. Previous to 1852 its members were able to enjoy only irregular service. In that year the church building now used was dedicated by Bishop Rappe, at which time about thirty families were included in the congregation. The priest first placed in charge was Rev. Lewis Filiere, who also preached at Olmstead Falls and Berea. He served about ten years and was followed by Rev. Fathers Miller, Ludwig, Hyland, Quigley, O'Brien and Kuhbler. Father Kuhbler, the present incumbent, has charge also of the German Catholic church of Rockport. The church of St. Patrick is moderately prosperous and has a congregation of sixty families.



Saint Patrick's Church, an Irish Catholic organization, was formed in Rockport previous to 1862. A church was built and dedicated by Bishop Rappe with thirty families in the congregation. The first priest was Rev. Lewis Filiere, who also preached, as we have said, in Berea and Olmsted Falls. He served ten years and then followed him in the order named: Reverend Fathers Miller, Ludwick, Hyland, Quigley, O'Brien and Kuhbler.

In 1889 this church included in its congregation sixty families.



The first thought of organizing a branch of the Christian Church in Lakewood was brought about by Mr. and Mrs. James Cannon, members of Franklin Circle Disciple Church, and they organized a Sunday School in East Rockport in 1872. A Chapel was built in January 27,1878 and those interested met there that Sunday afternoon and organized into a church. The Lord's Supper was observed on Feb. 10, and on June 16 the following June the chapel was formally dedicated, with an address by Lathrop Cooley, father of Rev. Harris R. Cooley and the church was officially named Rocky River Christian Church.

In 1881 the church was incorporated, changing its name to Rocky River Church of Christ.

The chapel in which the church was worshipping was destroyed by fire July 5, 1895. A new church was built and on Jan 3, 1907 it was dedicated with an address by Rev. O.G. Hertzog, of Hiram. This church proving inadequate, another new structure was erected in 1906 and dedicated on March 10, 1907. At that time there was a membership of 130 and at the present writing it is nearly 1,000. Rev. E.D. Salkeld was the first pastor and he served from 1906 to 1910. He was succeeded by Rev. Walter L. Goode.

The present location at the corner of Detroit and Roycroft has been the church home since 1907. About ten years after the congregation had so grown that it became imperative to enlarge the building and the capacity was trebled. In 1924 the congregation is facing the same problem of overcrowding and plans are now under way to add $100,000 to $150,000 more for additional equipment. The present property is valued at about $75,000.

Rev. Walter Scott Cook the present pastor is now serving his sixth year as pastor coming to Lakewood from Wilkinsburg Church at Pittsburg.





In May, 1872, Mr. and Mrs. James Cannon, members of Franklin Circle Disciple church, organized a Sunday school in the West District school house in East Rockport, and the organization of this school was the laying of the foundation for the present Lakewood Christian church. A new chapel was built, and January 27, 1878, people interested in the project met at 2 o'clock in the afternoon and organized into a church. The Lord's Supper ceremonial was observed on February 10, and 16th of the following June the chapel was formally dedicated, with an address by Lathrop Cooley, father of Rev. Harris R. Cooley, and the church was officially named the Rocky River Christian Mission.

Not until January 31, 1881, was the church incorporated, taking the official name of the Rocky River Church of Christ. The chapel in which the church was worshipping was destroyed by fire July 5, 1895. A new church was built and on January 3, 1897, it was dedicated with an address by Rev. O.G. Hertzog, of Hiram. This church proving inadequate, another structure was erected in 1906 (!), and dedicated on March 10, 1907. The latest church built by this congregation, and occupied for worship at this time, was dedicated November 3, 1912.

When the 1907 church was completed there was an active membership of 130; now there are 450 members of the church, and an enrollment in Sunday School of 800. The church is one of the most modern in the city and cost about $30,000 to complete.

Rev. E.D. Salkeld, now at Franklin, Indiana, was the first stated pastor, and he served from 1906 to 1910. He was succeeded by Rev. Walter L. Goode, the present pastor. Rev. F.M. Rains, of Cincinnati, was an active participant in the dedication of the present new structure.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- MARCH 7, 1918 - Pg. 11

Lakewood Christian church, located at the corner of Detroit and Roycroft Avenues, can well be proud of its membership, which is the second largest in Lakewood.

Long ago, the church adopted the slogan of "Welcome", and one had only to visit any of the services of the church to know that he is indeed welcome there.

The Christian church has a large well equipped, efficiently served bible school, headed by George C. Hansen, superintendent, who is one of the best authorities on bible school efficiency in Cuyahoga County, and one of the county officers of the Cuyahoga County Bible School association.

A fine thing in connection with the regular church services is the splendid music furnished by the Lakewood quartet, consisting of Mrs. Sidney W. Landon, alto; Mrs. N.K. Chany, soprano; Mr. J.M. Zang, tenor; Mr. H.A. Leiter, basso; with Miss Agnes Lowe, organist.

Rev. S.E. Brewster, the present minister, has been connected with the church as minister for nearly three years, and he not only serves the local church, but is one of the leaders in every civic interest, and is now the president of the Lakewood Chamber of Commerce.

There are splendid social organizations in the church. The Ladies' league has a membership of between three and four hundred, and the various young people's organizations also have strong memberships.

There is gymnasium work for both girls and boys.

Christian church may well be known as a well equipped city church, and invites everyone to come there and experience the "Welcome" spirit.




A Union Sunday School in West School House of East Rockport, conducted by Mr. and Mrs., James Cannon, assisted by brethren from the Franklin Circle Church.


January 27th, 2:30 P.M. - Date of organization. Ananson Wilcox, presiding in the Rocky River Christian Chapel, Detroit St., East Rockport.

February 10th, first Lord's Supper, 2:30 P.M.

June 16th, Date of Dedication: Rev Lathrop Cooley and J.C. Cannon officiated

Cost of building about $2000


January 5th - Officers elected: James Cannon, Elder and Trustee. John Hall, Treasurer: J.C. Cannon, Clerk; William Southern, Deacon: Fourteen charter members as follows: Lou Atwell, Georgia Bower, James Cannon, Mrs. R.A. Cannon, J.C. Cannon, Alice A. Cannon, James Corlett, Miss Minnie Hall, William Southern, Elizabeth Southern, Joseph Southern, Orsaville Southern, Miss Grace Southern, Miss Ella Woodbury


January 31st: Articles of incorporation were filed under name of Rocky River Church of Christ. Mr. James Cannon held the pulpit except when he could get supplies, until the Fall of 1882. Records show that the following ministers served the church at different times from 1882 to 1893: Lathrop Cooley, R.G. White, Alason Wilcox, Rev. Spindler, Rev. Maxwell, Rev. Knowles, Rev. E.S. DeMiller, Rev. Harry Miller, Rev. R.A. Nichols, Rev. Loomis and the following Hiram Students: Brothers Simpson, Cahill, Forest and our own I.D. Brown.


Rev. L.E. Hoskins became pastor. The Christian Endeavor Society was strong and helped mightily in the work.


July 5th, the chapel was destroyed by fire. Services were held in an adjoining orchard during July. A coffee house was fitted up and meetings continued. In September, L.A. Betcher was called to serve the church.


January 3rd. Dedication of new church at corner of Detroit Ave. and Park Row, two lots east of former chapel now called Lakewood. Address by Rev O.G. Hertzog of Hiram College. Rev. F.G. Strickland was called in January, 1897, serving for ten months time.


January 5th. Church membership at this time 51. Rev. T.B. Knowles supplied from Nov. 1897 to March 1899. B.H. Hayden came next and served until August 1899. John Pounds was the next in line and he supplied from November 1899 to November 1900. Rev. M.L. Jenney, father of our Dr. E.R. Jenney, was called to the pastorate of the church and served from November 1900 to June 1903. F.D. Drpaer came in April, 1903 and closed his pastorate June 1, 1905. H.E. Garn was the next pastor and served from June 1905 to September 1906.


Sold the property at the corner of Detroit and Park Row, and new building started at the corner of Detroit and Roycroft Avenues. Rev. E.D. Salkeld pastor, was called February 1907, and served until July, 1910.


March 10th, Dedication service conducted by F.M. Rains and C.J. Tanner. Membership at this time, 130. Cost of building $12,000.


November 3rd. Dedication of enlarged building. Auditorium doubled in size. Gymnasium and South Wing added. Cost $21,000. Rev. W.S. Goode, pastor, was called September 1910 and served the church for five years. Membership on date of dedication 360.


November 15, Rev. S.E. Brewster was called to the pastorate and served until 1918. Dean Vernon Stauffer of Hiram College filled the pulpit until a new pastor was secured. During Rev. Brewster's pastorate, March 2, 1916 the church took as its Living Link Missionary, Mrs. C.E. Benlehr, Takhatput, Bilaspur District, C.P. India.


May first, Rev. Walter Scott Cook was called to the pastorate, membership then 600, and has served about nine years. Rev. Howard Holyroyd became the second Living Link Missionary during this term of ministry. The last statistical report for the Year Book, 1927, shows the following report: Membership (local and non-resident), 1105; Raised for all purposes - Church Treasury, $19,217.45; Ladies League, $2,425,16; Missionary Society, $291.75; Christian Endeavor Society, $60.00; Intermediate C.E. $25.00; Triangle Club, $43,65; Adult Bible Classes (money on hand), $600.00; Total $22,663,04. 862 have been added to the church roll since May 1, 1919. Bible school attendance averages about 525 per Sunday. Present membership 1122.


The Church employed Rev. Neil Crawford as educational Director. His services began September 1st.


The Golden Jubilee is here! Why not let this anniversary day mark the beginning of the biggest forward looking year Lakewood Christian Church has ever known! Our work demands expansion. Building plans will soon be completed. How can we more fittingly celebrate this anniversary year than by the erection and dedication of a Sunday School Unit.

CHRISTIAN - continued --

Today we celebrate the Fiftieth Anniversary of the organization of the Lakewood Christian Church. The service is a duplication as near as possible to the services of a Lord's Day morning fifty years ago.

A sketch of the eventful history in abbreviated form is set forth in another part of the Church Calendar. The church begins the second half of its first century of history with high hopes and great plans. Our new Educational Unit it is hoped will be dedicated this Jubilee Year and stand as a fitting memorial of this anniversary. We welcome many old friends who have come back to help celebrate the day.

Eugene L. Swan, National Director of the Boy Scouts of America, will make the address for the Sunday Evening Club tonight at 7:30. His subject is "The Boy, the Father of the Man." Every man and boy of the church should hear this talk.

Mr. Garvin will give his third Bible Study on Wednesday evening at 7:45. We owe it to him and ourselves to attend. He is discussing the origin of the New Testament books.

The regular monthly meeting of the Official Board will be held Thursday at 8:00 P.M. in the South Parlors of the church.

Changes in address which have been reported to the office are as follows: Mrs. C.A. Bartels, Miss Naomi Bartels and Miss Lois ------



It was here that a Union sunday school was started in a schoolhouse, through the efforts of James Cannon and his wife, Rhoda, assisted at different times by members of the Franklin Circle church.

There were 14 charter members and on June 16, 1878, Rocky River chapel was dedicated, with Rev. Alanson Wilcox and J. Cannon officiating. This little chapel was built at a great sacrifice; one man offered to give $100 in work as a builder, another handled the material, and one prosperous man gave $100 in cash. The building, when completed cost about $2,000 and represented the earnest endeavor and sacrifice of the little band of members. The first trustees were James Cannon Edward Bates, John Hall T. Thompson, and Joseph Southern.

Among the names of the early preachers we find Jabez Hall, R. Wright, Lathrop Cooley, A. Wilcox, and T.B. Knowles. During the period from 1890 to 1893, a number of evangelistic meetings were held, and prospects for the struggling congregation seemed bright.

In July, 1895 however the chapel was destroyed by fire which originated from an unknown cause, and which, with the exception of several chairs, totally ruined the work which had been accomplished after so many hardships.

The members, nothing daunted, remained true to their faith, and held services in a nearby orchard during the remainder of the summer. Lewis Betcher, one of the congregation, conducted the services.

When September came, and the problem of indoor meetings again became paramount A. Marvin bought and fitted out a "Coffee House," which was used as a meeting place until January, 1897, when a new church was dedicated, two lots east of the former chapel, corner of Detroit street and Park Row. This edifice cost $4500 and represented the efforts of the 50 members which the organization at that time contained.

The new church was attractive, and work in all branches progressed zealously under the guidance of Rev. F. Draper and Rev. H. Garn. This was a fortunate time, since Lakewood at that period was undergoing its phenomenal growth, as a result of which many new families came from both Cleveland and points East, to make homes.

It soon became evident that a larger church would be necessary, so the present site was selected, and on March 10, 1907, the new church was dedicated, at a cost of $12,000. C. Tanner of Detroit assisted at the dedication exercises and the members recall with gratitude the assistance of Rev. and Mrs. S. Bartlett of the Ohio Christian Missionary society, in making the plans.

From then until 1919, when the present pastor, Rev. W. Cook, took the ministry several pastors filled the pulpit with Dean Vernon Stauffer of Hiram College applying when the need arose.

At present, the church is one of the largest and most influential in the city. The membership has now reached nearly a thousand: last year over $10,000 was contributed for missionary purposes.

The Bible school averages an attendance of 584 each Sunday. The Women's Missionary society numbers more than 150. The church affairs are directed by a board which consists of 48 men and 9 women.

The building, according to Rev. Cook, is again outgrown, and the church faces for the forth time the necessity of a building program.

"We plan," said Rev. Cook, "to make the next building one which will give adequate facilities for its religious education program and the large social program which is necessary in a city."

The new Junior choir, under the direction of Carl Radde, who also directs the vested choir of 40 voices in an unusual feature of church services; Mrs. Sarah F. Llewellyn, the efficient secretary of the church and H. Kinley, superintendent of the Bible school, put in long hours to better serve the church and all the members are widely known for their devotion and earnest work.

The Rev. Walter Scott Cook, pastor, who came to the church in 1919, has added 700 new members. New members are being added to the church so rapidly that the membership agrees that the time has arrived for planning for a new building.

The Lakewood Christian church last year contributed more than $10,000 to missionary work. It ranks fourth in Ohio in contributions for this cause. This shows the unselfish desire of the membership to help others and indicates the prosperity and position of the congregation.

The Bible school attendance last year averaged 584 every Sunday. It is one of the largest schools of its kind in the state and is pointed out by churchmen as an example of just what can be accomplished with a church organization that works shoulder to shoulder for the interests of the church and the best interests of the community.



The Rocky River Christian Mission, a Disciples Church, was organized in 1879 and a church built the previous year but not dedicated till the church was organized. The original members were James Cannon and wife, J.C. Cannon and wife, William Southern and wife, Joseph Southern and wife, Peter Bower, Miss Ella Woodbury, Miss Lou Atwell. The first trustee was James Cannon and the first preacher, Elder J.C. Cannon. In the '70's there were some forty families represented in the church.



In October, 1909, and shortly thereafter, preliminary meetings were held of those interested in Christian Science. On December 12, 1909, the Lakewood Christian Science Society was formally organized at the home of Mr. Frank L. Thurber, at which time the following articles of association were adopted:

"We, the undersigned, all members of the Mother church, in Boston, Massachusetts or former members of branch Churches of Christ, Scientist, of Cleveland, Ohio, hereby associate ourselves and organize a Christian Science Society in Lakewood, Ohio, for the purpose of divine worship and healing in accordance with the Principle of Christian Science as taught in the Bible and in Science and Health with Key to the Scriptures, by Mary Baker Eddy."

December 21, 1910, the Society was re-organized and incorporated with Frank E. Lynch, Willet G. Ranney, Kenneth N. Watt, Bertha B. Wagar, Pearl G. Andrews, Ethel White O'Brien, Louise K. Seltsam, Frank L. Thurber and Cora M. MacGregor as incorporators.

In February, 1911, a building lot was secured on Detroit Avenue opposite Arthur Avenue, and on Tuesday, October 14, 1913, the cornerstone was laid for a new structure.

The Sunday School room in the basement has been completed and is being used for religious services. The first service was held in the new structure on Wednesday evening, September 2, 1914.

The completed structure will be of brick, terra cotta trimmed and the style of architecture will be Greek, Ionic order; will seat 900 people and will be completed soon.

Official readers of the church (corresponding to the minister in the usual Protestant church) are Leslie P. Strong and Mrs. Frank L. Thurber.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 7, 1918 - Pg. 10

The Christian Science Society of Lakewood was organized on December 12, 1909, by twenty-nine members at the home of Frank L. Thurber who became first reader of the organization. Two services were held in the McCaskey block, January 23, 1910, and Sunday school was also opened with an attendance of 42.

In December, 1910, the Society incorporated as First Church of Christ, Scientist, Lakewood. In February, 1911, the church purchased a lot at the corner of Detroit and Virgina Avenues, with a frontage of 130 feet on Detroit Avenue.

Having outgrown the hall in the McCaskey block, the rapidly increasing congregations made it necessary to consider a larger room and the basement of the church building was completed to meet this need. It has a seating capacity of about 900 and the auditorium when finished will seat about 1,000. The average attendance at church services is about 600 and that of the Sunday school 250. This church maintains a comfortable reading room where Christian science literature may be freely read or purchased, at 14606 Detroit Avenue, and is open daily, except Sundays and holidays, from 1 to 5 p.m., and Saturday evening from 7 to 9.

The Christian Science church has no pastors but the Bible and Science and Health by Mrs. Eddy are the impersonal preachers. Scriptural texts and their correlative passages from the text book and read by two readers comprise the sermon. New readers are elected every three years. At present the office of first reader is being filled by Mr. Fred C. Elerenson, 1410 Lakeland Avenue, and that of second reader by Miss Mary E. Anderson, 14200 Detroit Avenue.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 21, 1918 - Pg. 6

The Christian Science Society of Lakewood was organized on December 12, 1909, by twenty-nine members at the home of Frank L. Thurber who became first reader of the organization. Two services were held in the McCaskey block, January 23, 1910, and Sunday school was also opened with an attendance of 42.

In December, 1910, the Society incorporated as First Church of Christ, Scientist, Lakewood. In February, 1911, the church purchased a lot at the corner of Detroit and Virgina Avenues, with a frontage of 130 feet on Detroit Avenue.

Having outgrown the hall in the McCaskey block, the rapidly increasing congregations made it necessary to consider a larger room and the basement of the church building was completed to meet this need. It has a seating capacity of about 900 and the auditorium when finished will seat about 1,000. The average attendance at church services is about 600 and that of the Sunday school, 250. This church maintains a comfortable reading room where Christian Science literature may be freely read or purchased, at 14606 Detroit Avenue, and is open daily, except Sundays and holidays, from 1 to 5 p.m., and Saturday evening from 7 to 9.

The Christian Science church has no pastors but the Bible and Science and Health by Mrs. Eddy are the impersonal preachers. Scriptural texts and their correlative Passages from the text book and read by two readers comprise the sermon. New readers are elected every three years. At present the office of first reader is being filled by Mr. Fred C. Elerenson, 1410 Lakeland Avenue, and that of second reader by Miss Mary E. Anderson, 14200 Detroit Avenue.


THE LAKEWOOD PRESS - Jan. 9, 1919 - Page 2

Christian Scientists of Lakewood, who for the last five years have been holding religious services in the basement of what eventually was planned to be a costly church building on Detroit avenue opposite Arthur avenue, Lakewood, will abandon the "dugout" quarters and move one floor upward into a costly new edifice that is to be constructed this year if building conditions permit.

A member of the board of directors of the First Church of Christ, Scientist, of Lakewood, is authority for the statement that the church plans to erect a modern structure this year if possible. The building will cost around $75,000.

The basement of the proposed edifice was made tenable when building operations on the church were halted by the war.

The church owns half the Detroit avenue frontage between Virginia and French avenues, Lakewood, and when French avenue is cut through to Detroit avenue the church will stand on the northeast corner.

The new structure will have a seating capacity for about 1,100 persons. The basement seats about 900.



The Lakewood Congregational Church was organized December 8, 1905, with 27 members. It was recognized by the Congregational Council and received into fellowship with the Cleveland Congregational churches December 21. Its first regular pastor was Rev. Benj. A. Williams, who was succeeded by Rev. Ross W. Sanderson and he by Rev. Edgar C. Scovill. The present pastor is Rev. George Le Grand Smith.

The first building was a temporary structure erected in 1906. The congregation has partially completed a new edifice 60 X 140, which will be a brick Colonial structure. It will contain a gymnasium 35 X 79 feet, with dining-room, kitchen, and baths in the basement; auditorium and Sunday school rooms will be on the main floor plan.

The church is being erected on a lot 169 X 380, which will provide ample room for tennis courts and community play grounds. These will be operated in connection with the institutional features of the church edifice, and taken as a whole the church will combine one of the most complete and handsome institutional churches in Greater Cleveland.



The Lakewood Congregational Church was organized December 8th, 1905, at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Chas. E. Newell with a charter membership of twenty-seven. During the first year of its life its meetings were held in the homes of its members, and in rented halls.

The first building of its own was a portable chapel 25X50 feet in dimensions, placed on rented ground which is now part of the tract on which the present building stands. This chapel, plain but attractive and convenient, was first occupied for religious services on Thanksgiving Day, November 29,1906, and formally dedicated about two weeks later, Sunday, December 16th. Here the Church worshipped, did its work and grew, until Palm Sunday, March 28th, 1915, when, led by the Sunday School in triumphal procession, it entered the completed portion of the new building. After the completion of our new building the chapel-was set up on Shaker Heights and became the first home of the New Plymouth Church. It is now doing similar service for the Church in Euclid Village.

The completed building was dedicated November 12, 1916, at a total cost of land, building and furnishings of approximately $130,000, thus securing a property which could not be duplicated today, including site, for anything less than twice that sum. The lot alone, 169X368 feet, was purchased for $12,000. Such facts show how wise it was to incur a debt of $100,000 against the days of advancing prices.

The purchase has also secured ample space for future building and expansion that would be almost impossible if it were necessary to buy land at present prices. As the result of a campaign for subscriptions in May, 1920, the debt has been cut in two and the larger part of the remainder has been provided for. The Church has always enjoyed steady but not phenomenal growth. The Ministers who have served it are:

Rev. Benjamin A. Williams, April, 1906, to February, 1908.

Rev. Ross W. Sanderson, April, 1908, to October, 1909.

Rev. Edgar E. Scovill, January, 1910, to December, 1911.

Rev. G. Le Grand Smith, July, 1912, to December, 1917.

Rev. Roy E. Bowers, May, 1918, to date.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 7, 1918 - Pg. 9

Leading men in the Congregational church in America regard the development of the Lakewood Congregational church as one of the most remarkable church enterprises in the history of the denomination.

Securing a very late start, and working for several years under the handicap of a small portable building, the work of the church received a very great impetus under the pastorate of Rev. George LeGrand Smith, who in 1912 was called from the Bellevue Congregational church to become pastor of the Lakewood church. Shortly after his arrival the plans were made for the building of a new church building, and in the fall of 1916 this church, which in 1912 had a membership of less than 100 and without any assets, dedicated its splendid new plant at the corner of West Clifton Boulevard and Detroit Ave., with land, buildings and equipment of an estimated value of $175,000. The membership has grown rapidly, and there is every indication that within the next five years it will be come the largest Congregational church in Greater Cleveland.

Two very remarkable contributions which the Lakewood Congregational church is making to Lakewood and the community are found in its splendid musical leadership and its gymnasium and recreational features.

A large chorus choir under the direction of Prof. Ira B. Penniman, director of the Lakewood Choral society, grouped around a splendid quartet, renders excellent musical numbers at the church vesper service every Sunday afternoon at 4:30. This service is becoming very popular in Lakewood and is largely attended by music lovers of the community. The organist of the church is Miss Jean Louise Havill, F.A.G.O. The quartet is composed of Miss Rena Titus, soprano; Miss Anita Wesco, contralto; Mr. Elbright V. Burt, tenor; and Mr. Russell B. Wise, bass. Two members of the quartet, Miss Rena Titus and Mr. Russell B. Wise, were among the twelve selected in the Cleveland Press contest as the best amateur singers in northern Ohio.

The Lakewood Congregational church has the largest church gymnasium in Cuyahoga county, and so far as is known, the only gymnasium having sufficient clearing for a splendid balcony for spectators; the height of the gymnasium from floor to ceiling covers two stories of the church underneath the church auditorium, which also has fine bowling alleys and showers and locker rooms for both boys and girls. Regular gymnasium classes are given under the leadership of employed physical directors.

The Lakewood Congregational church was organized December 8, 1905, at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. Newell, and with a charter membership of twenty-seven. During the first year of its life meetings were held in the home of its members, and in rented halls. The first building of its own was a portable chapel 25X50 feet in dimensions, placed on rented ground which is now part of the tract of land on which the present new building stands. This chapel, plain but attractive and convenient, was first occupied for religious Services on Thanksgiving Day, November 29, 1906, and formally dedicated two weeks later, Sunday, December 16. Here the church worshipped did its work and grew, until Palm Sunday, March 28, 1915, when led by the Sunday school in triumphal procession it entered the completed portion of the new building. In the gymnasium and adjoining rooms the worship and other activities of the church have since been conducted.

It was in September, 1912, that the church definitely committed itself to the erection of a building on the lot purchased two years before and which, after the building campaign was under way, was augmented by the acquisition of adjoining lots, making a tract 169X368 feet, which forms the site of the new structure. The board of trustees was made the building committee with power to act. Mr. W.H. Nicklas of Cleveland was the architect chosen, and during 1913 plans were accepted and the first moneys raised.

Ground was broken April 22, 1914, and the first or basement unit completed and occupied as above mentioned. In the summer of 1915, work on the superstructure was resumed and the cornerstone laid on August 8, of that year.

The early history of the Congregational church has been so intimately connected with the best period of colonial architecture that there has ever since been a strong sentiment among Congregationalists favorable to that style for its houses of worship. Nor does this sentiment need any apology, for it does not merely depend on the historical traditions of many fine old meeting houses, but even more so on fact that they were the product of the supreme artistic genius of our ancestors; and because of their intristic beauty, Puritan simplicity and easy adaptability to modern requirements. It was for these reasons that the colonial style was selected for the new church home of the Lakewood church. It is not a copy of any particular historic building, but embodies in general the pleasing forms and details characteristic of many of the best of them.

The bell tower is omitted, but provision has been made in the construction of the building to add this at some later time.

Like its prototypes, the main building is an oblong rectangle in shape, having an impressive porch across the entire front, the cornice and pediment being supported by six large Doric columns. At each side ofthe rear are rectangular extensions containing a variety of useful rooms.

The exterior walls are constructed of rough texture vitrified brick of slightly varying shades of red, laid cornices are of wood enamelled white.

The main floor is elevated about eight feet above the general ground level and is reached at the front by an impressive flight of easy steps extending the entire width of the porch, and at the rear by means of stairs on the inside.

The building contains two principal floors. On the main basement floor are the gymnasium, 36X78 feet, and having a 19-foot ceiling. This room is used as a dining room. Along one side of it is a room containing two first-class bowling alleys; on the other side is the serving room and kitchen, both of which are fitted up in the most complete manner with every modern convenience. At the rear are rooms for the heating and ventilating apparatus, vacuum cleaner, organ blower, etc.

The basement story also contains a mezzanine story surrounding the gymnasium, on which is a room with open fire-place for the primary department, another for the kindergarten; the pastor's office; a spectator's balcony the entire length of the gymnasium, and on the opposite side, commodious separate shower and locker rooms reached by private stairways from each end of the gymnasium. These rooms all connect with the main corridors and stair halls, having three widely separated double exit doors at the ground level.

The main or church floor contains the auditorium occupying the greater portion of the building and with the balcony has a seating capacity of 750 increased to one thousand by auxiliary rooms. This room is entered through a beautiful vestibule 16 feet by 32 feet in size. Two large social parlors open on the auditorium by means of folding french doors. At the opposite end of the auditorium is a large choir loft and back of it the new Austin organ with its simple but handsome front, forming part of the architecture of the room. The pulpit platform occupies the usual central place in front of the choir, and is adorned with a beautiful solid mahogany pulpit set, all of simple design to harmonize with the style and finish of the room.

The room is surrounded on the other three sides by a handsome balcony supported by Doric columns. The walls are adorned with fluted pilasters and cornice in the Ionic order and the ceiling divides into panels by means of molded stucco beams. The interior wood finish of the auditorium, parlors, vestibule and study is in white enamel with mahogany trim, and the walls are in pearl gray tint, the ceilings in light cream tint, the pilasters, cornices and beams in white.

The floor of the vestibule is laid with a light gray Linotile with border inlay of a darker shade. The auditorium, parlors, and balcony are covered with a beautiful two-toned blue carpet and the pews are of a simple special design, and like the pulpit furniture, are of brown mahogany. The lighting fixtures are of the indirect type and of a design of finish to harmonize with the other furnishings.

The whole effect of the auditorium in its simple and refined treatment is one of rare charm and beauty, and best of all, so well adapted to its purpose.

The balcony floor contains a beautiful large parlor for the ladies, a club room for the girls, and a choir room.

The balcony floor also contains a smaller assembly room for Sunday school and other purposes at the front of the building, reached by stairs from the main entrance vestibule, and at the rear a club room for the boys. There is also a beautiful large club room for the men over the organ and choir loft.

The building has a total floor space of 25,000 square feet, and a total of 495,000 cubic feet.

The trustees of the church are: C.R. Cross, chairman, D.C. Reed, H.A. Cunnington, A.F. Allen, A.B. Smythe, W.H. Whitney, C.E. Newell, C.R. Megerth, W.C. Saunders, J.C. Hoffman, George S. Case, George H. Jackman, H.H. Lind.




The Original Twenty Seven Members Received 12/8/05

Mrs. H.H. Allyn (Minnie)

Mrs. Bassett (Elizabeth)

Mr. James A. Beebe

Mrs. Jas A. Beebe (Mabel Dutton)

Mr. Lawrence Bramley

Mrs. Lawrence Bramley

Miss Bernice Bramley

Miss Eleanor Bramley

Mr. G.H. Eddy

Mrs. G.H. Eddy

Miss Sarah E. Eddy

Mr. W.H. Dart

Mrs. W.G. Dart

Miss Marie Dart

Mr. Joseph Edwards

Mrs. Joseph Edwards (Sadie R.)

Mr. J.C. Hoffman

Mrs. J.C. Hoffman (Carrie L.)

Mr. M.G. Monasmith

Mr. Charles E. Newell

Mrs. Charles E. Newell (Helen Bassett)

Mrs. Phelps (Nora G.)

Mr. D.C. Reed

Mrs. D.C. Reed (Jennie)

Mrs. J.H.D. Rodier (Sussanna)

Mr. T.L. Wight

Mrs. T.L. Wight (Nellie H.)

Thursday: November 2, 1905

In accordance with arrangements previously made, a few congenial spirits met at the home of Mr. and Mrs. T.L. Wright, Wayne Ave. to plan for the organization of a Congregational Church and Sunday School to be located in this section of the Village.

The following persons were present, Rev E.E. Scovill who is to act as pastor for the present:

Mr. & Mrs. J.C. Hoffman

" " D.B. Harvey

" " G.H. Eddy

" " T.L. Wight

" " Hedley C. Clark

Mr. Lawrence Bramley

" Charles E. Newell

Mrs. Mabel Beebe

" Elizabeth Bassett

" Boor

Mr. M.G. Monasmith

After an informal discussion of the situation, Rev. E.E. Scoville was chosen chairman of the meeting and J.C. Hoffman secretary.

Rev. Scovill, Mr. Monasmith and Mr. Newell were appointed a committee to present a church manual for discussion and adoption at some future meeting. This same Committee was given authority to invite certain Congregational Churches to send delegates to council with and receive us into fellowship with them.

The above Committee was also instructed to suggest one or more names for the new church to a future gathering to be voted on.

Mr. Wight was authorized to engage Odd Fellows Hall at $20 per quarter, in which to hold church and Sunday School services, between the hours of 9 A.M. and 1 P.M.

It was voted to start a Sunday School to be held from 9:30 A.M. to 10:30 A.M. and the following officers were elected, Rev. E.E. Scovill superintendent, Mr. M.G. Monasmith asst-do- Mr. Leslie Clark Sec'y .' Treas.

Friday Evening was selected as the most convenient time for holding the mid week prayer meetings which for the present are to be held at the house of some of the members.

After discussing the many questions relation to the activities of a new church, a motion to adjourn was carried.

(Signed) Charles E. Newell

Acting Secretary

December 8, 1905

In accordance with the suggestions made Thursday November 2, 1905 at the meeting held at the home of Mr. and Mrs. T.L. Wight, Wayne Ave. in Lakewood, at which time a plan was discussed to organize a Congregational Church and Sunday School to be located in that section of Lakewood. The following persons who have been interested in this work, met at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. Newell in Clifton Park, Friday Evening, December 8, 1905 for the purpose of organizing said church.

Rev. E.E. Scovill, acting Pastor

" C.H. Lemmon of North Congregational Church

Mrs. Minnie Allyn

" Elizabeth Bassett

" Mabel Beebe

Mr. Lawrence Bramley

Miss Nellie Bramley

" Bernice Bramley

" Sara Ella Eddy

Mr. G.H. Eddy

Mrs. Sarah G. Eddy

Mr. J.A. Edwards

" J.C. Hoffman

Mrs. Carrie L. Hoffman

Mr. D.B. Harvey

Mrs. Adah L. Harvey

Mr. Charles E. Newell

Mrs. Helen Bassett Newell

Mr. M.G. Monasmith

Mrs. Nora G. Phelps

Mr. D.C. Reed

Mrs. Jennie Reed

Mrs. J.D.H. Rodier

Mrs. Susanna Rodier

Mr. T.L. Wight

The meeting opened with prayer by Rev. C.H. Lemmon, Rev. E.E. Scovill was appointed Moderator and J.C. Hoffman Clerk protem.

After a reading of the minutes of the last meeting it was voted that a Committee be appointed to examine letters and Candidates on Confession of Faith for Membership.

This Committee was composed of three, namely,

Mr. Charles E. Newell

Mr. M.G. Monasmith

Mrs. Carrie L. Hoffman

This said Committee reported receiving 24 letters, and 3 on Confession of Faith, namely,

Mrs. Minnie Allyn

Mr. Jos. A. Edwards

Mrs. Elizabeth Bassett

Mrs. Sadie R. Edwards

Mr. Jas. Beebe

Mr. J.C. Hoffman

Mrs. Mabel D. Beebe

Mrs. Carrie L. Hoffman

Mr. Lawrence Bramley

Mr. Charles E. Newell

Mrs. Ellen A. Bramley

Mrs. Helen Bassett Newell

Miss Eleanor Bramley

Mr. M.G. Monasmith

Miss Bernice Bramley

Mrs. Nora G. Phelps

Mr. G.H. Eddy

Mr. D.C. Reed

Mrs. Sarah G. Eddy

Mrs. Jennie Reed

Miss Sarah Ellen Eddy

Mrs. Susanna Rodier

Mr. W.C. Dart

Mr. T.L. Wight

Mrs. Effie Dart

Mrs. Nellie H. Wight

Miss Mamie Dart


That we are ready to proceed to take the necessary steps toward the organization of a church of the Lord Jesus Christ upon Congregational Principles.


That the Covenant and Statement of Christian Doctrine given in the "Council Manuel" be accepted.


That the Form for the "Redemption of Members" used by Pilgrim Congregational Church, Cleveland, be accepted.


That we accept the Code of By-laws given in the "Council Manuel" amended as follows:-

"A" In Article 1, by inserting the Name of the Church, "The First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio."

"B" In Article 4, Section 4, by striking out the words, "and have attained the age of 21 years and such only".

"C" In Article 5, Section 1, (3) by accepting the paragraph relating to Trustees, and by inserting the words "two deaconesses, one to serve one year and one to serve two years. After the first election, the term of office shall be two years.

"D" In Article 5, Section 1, (7) by accepting the paragraph relating to Trustees, and by inserting the number of Trustees, namely three, and also excluding the paragraph relating to the Prudential Committee.

"E" In Article 5, Section 4, by adding the words, "The Deaconesses may assist in the preparation of the Lord's Supper, and in Parish visitation.

"F" In Article 6, by accepting the name Trustees and and excluding the name Prudential Committee.

"G" In Article 8, Section 2, (3) by inserting the words "The annual election shall be held on the First Friday in December each year, and by striking out the words, "and officers elected," and by inserting the date of the Annual meeting, namely the first Friday after New Years day, or as soon as the reports of the officers can be prepared.

"H" In Article 8, Section 2 (5) by inserting the number of members necessary to constitute a quorum, namely nine.


That the covenant statement of doctrine form, for the reception of members and by-laws now approved shall go into effect, immediately upon the formal organization of the church by covenant.


That we now proceed to elect one deacon, to serve until the next annual meeting, one to serve one year from the next annual meeting and one until the end of two years from the next annual meeting.

The following nominations were made:

Mr. G.H. Eddy, nominated deacon for one year

Mr. M.G. Monasmith nominated deacon for two years

Mr. Lawrence Bramley nominated deacon for three years

The election of the above officers to go into effect on organization of the church.

The following Deaconesses were elected.

Mrs. Sarah G. Eddy to serve for one year.

Mrs. Nora G. Phelps to serve for two years

It was voted that the clerk cast a ballot nominating Mr. T.L. Wight, Treasurer, also voted that Mr. D.C. Reed cast a ballet nominating Mr. J.C. Hoffman, Clerk.

Owing to some of the friends being unable to attend this meeting it was voted to postpone the election of Trustees till some further meeting.

It was voted to elect a Committee of two to represent our Church in the City Missionary Society. The following being unanimously elected.

Mr. Charles E. Newell

Mrs. Elizabeth Bassett

The date and place of meeting of Council was left with the Committee.

There was some discussion as to what the name of this Church should be a vote resulting as follows:

Lakewood Congregational Church 4 votes

Puritan Congregational Church 8 votes

First Congregational Church of Lakewood 10 votes

It was then moved to adjourn, another meeting to be held Friday evening, December 15th, 1905, at the home of Mr. and Mrs. J.C. Hoffman on Spring-Carden Avenue.

J.C. Hoffman, Clerk

Friday Evening, December 15th, 1905

Meeting opened with prayer by Rev. E.E. Scovill. After singing a Hymn, it was decided to go over the Sunday School lesson for the following Sunday before attending to any further business. After reading the lesson and singing another hymn Mr. Scovill advised us that the meeting of the Council had been arranged for Thursday night, December 21st in the Disciple Church.

Mr. Monasmith was requested to see the Disciple Minister and ask him to speak a few words of fellowship. We were advised that Dr. Pradley of Pilgrim Church would preach the sermon. Mr. Schwartz would address the people, Dr. Malcolm the prayer of recognition and the need of the field, Dr. Lemmon.


To hold Communion Service on the last Sunday of this year. Also that Mr. Monasmith should arrange for the music for Thursday night.

Meeting adjourned

J.C. Hoffman, Clerk

December 21, 1905

Minutes of the Ecclesiastical Council called to recognize the First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio.

Pursuant to the Letters Missive of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio, the Churches and the Cleveland Congregational City Missionary Society represented by pastors and delegates and the individuals invited, met in council at Ohio Thursday, December 21, 1905 at 7:30 P.M. The Council was called to order by Rev. Charles H. Lemmon, REv. LeRoy Royce was chosen Moderator and Rev. Edgar S. Rothcook was elected scribe, Rev. John G. Fraser led the council in Prayer.

The calling of the roll showed the council to be made up as follows,





T.G. Newton

Euclid Ave.

H.E. Brown


Dan F. Bradley

J.G. Jennings

Franklin Ave.

Robt. Hopkin


E.T. MacMahon

A.E. Thompson


J.C. Treat

Hough Ave.

Chas. W. Carroll

Mrs. Maud C. Hyatt

Highland Ave.

W.A. Dietrick

W.J. Ellenberger

Denison Ave.

E.E. Scovill

J.D. Grougne


C.H. Lemmon

J.M. Moore


H.E. Schwartz

W.H. Niklas


Miss Bertha Strek


I.J. Houston

Robert Hogg

City Missionary Society

Thomas Henderson


Rev. LeRoy Royce

" J.G. Fraser

" C.H. Small

A majority of the churches and individuals invited being present, the council proceeded to the business for which it was called.

By vote of Council, H. Clark Ford and Thomas Henderson were accepted as delegates from the City Missionary Society.

The Clerk of the church was then called upon and read the action of the church in relation to the organization of the church and the calling of the council.

Rev. E.E. Scovill who acting under direction of the City Missionary Society had organized the church, made a statement concerning the needs of the community for the organization of a Congregational Church.

Moved that we deem the action of the church and the records there of satisfactory and the reports of the needs of the community, and the work of the church adequate and that we proceed with the services of Recognition.

The motion was amended by the motion that the Council be by itself. The Amendment carried. By motion the original motion was laid upon the table.

When by itself the Council voted to take the motion "That we deem the action of the church and the records there of satisfactory and the reports of the needs of the community and the work of the church adequate and that we proceed with the services of Recognition."

The motion then being before the council was unanimously carried.

The Rev. Mr. Scovill then presented the program for the Recognition service, which was adopted.

It was moved and carried that the Moderator be instructed at the close of the program to declare the council adjourned sine die.

The council then returned to the Audience room and following program participated in recognizing the FIRST CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH of Lakewood, Ohio, and extending to her the fellowship of the Congregational Church.

Music by the Choir

Sermon by Dan F. Bradley D.D.

Vocal Solo

Greetings and Fellowship of the Congregational Churches. Rev. H.E. Schwartz

Greetings from other denominations Rev. S.H. Bartlet

Recognition Prayer Rev. J.G. Fraser D.D.

Hymn - Blest be the tie that binds

After a vote of thanks to the Christian Church for the courtesy extended in the use by the Council of its house of worship, and to the Rev. S.H. Bartlet for his gracious words of greeting.

The Benediction was pronounced by Rev. E.S. Rothcock, and the Moderator declared the Council adjourned sine die.

(signed) LeRoy Royce, Moderator

(signed) Rev. Edgar S. Rothcock


Lakewood, Ohio

December 21, 1905

- - -

Lakewood, Ohio

February 20, 1906

The following resolution was this date received from the City Missionary Society.

Resolved -

That the Congregational City Missionary Society extend to Rev. B.A. Williams the call to the Superintendency with a salary of one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per year and a vacation of four weeks, and that we recommend to the Lakewood Church that it call Mr. Willimas as pastor with a salary of five hundred ($500.00) per annum.

- - -

Lakewood, Ohio

February 23, 1906

At a meeting held at the home of Mr. and Mrs. J.C. Hoffman this date in which the following named persons, were present vix

Mr. D.C. Reed, Mr. Lawrence Bramley, Mr. LeRoy Royce, Rev. C.H. Lemmon, Mr. G.H. Eddy, Miss Sara E. Eddy, Mr. M.G. Monasmith, Mr. and Mrs. Charles E. Newell, Mr. and Mrs. J.C. Hoffman, Mr. D.C. Reed was made chairman.


That the First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio, coalesce with the City Missionary Society and extend to Rev. B.A. Williams an invitation to become our pastor at a salary of five hundred dollars per annum with a vacation of four weeks. Services to begin April 1, 1906.

The above resolution was unanimously adopted.


That from now on our church would pay our pastors salary, direct instead of sending collection to the City Missionary Society, and then having said Society pay the pastor.

The following Trustees were elected, viz,

Mr. J.C. Hoffman for one year from date

Mr. H.C. Clark for two years from date

Mr. D.C. Reed for three years from date


That we confirm the call the Missionary Society extended to Mr. B.A. Williams.

After a prayer by Rev. Lemmon the meeting adjourned.

J.C. Hoffman, Clerk

- - -

Lakewood, Ohio

March 2, 1906

The resignation of Mr. Hedley C. Clark was accepted.

Mr. Charles E. Newell was elected to fill Mr. H.E. Clarks unexpired term.

- - -

Lakewood, Ohio

April 1, 1906

Communion Services

Commencement of Rev. A.B. Williams services as pastor of our church.

- - -

Lakewood, Ohio

April 13, 1906

At a short business meeting held this date at the home of Mr. and Mrs. J.C. Hoffman it was voted that we seek admission to the conference.

Mr. G.H. Eddy and J.C. Hoffman were elected delegates to represent our church at the meeting to be held Tuesday, April 17, 1906 at the First Congregational Church, Franklin Ave., Cleveland, Ohio.

J.C. Hoffman - Clerk

The following action of the Board of Trustees of the Congregational City Missionary Society is transcribed from the record of their minutes: Nov. 15, 1906.

Mr. C.H. Lemmon, Treasurer C.C.C.M.S.

Dear Sir:-

We desire to report that the First Church of Lakewood, a Mission of this Society, has contracted with Mr. G.A. Cook of this city for the erection of a portable church building according to the enclosed specification. The price is for building $2150.

Wiring, fixtures, leaded glass windows - $215.00

Architect expense - 10.00

Total - $2375.00

In accordance with the resolution of the Board of Trustees of this Society April 24th, 1906 we recommend the Society agree to purchase said building from the Lakewood Church at any time upon ninety days notice by written request, paying cash, therefore less 5% annual depreciation for each year for five years and 3% depreciation for each year thereafter figuring each year upon the cost.

Respectfully submitted Dan F. Bradley

H.F. Schwartz Committee

This resolution and recommendation were adopted.

C.H. Lemmon, Secretary

- - -

April 18

At the meeting in the First Church of Cleveland Conference of Congregational Church Lakewood was formally admitted.

May 9, 1906

A most enjoyable social and dinner tendered by the Ladies Guild to all the families of the congregation was given in the evening. It was then voted to instruct the Trustees to issue a note in behalf of the church to the City Missionary, the Society agreeing to pledge its credit for the purchase of a portable church.

A note for $1250 was given and is held by the Garfield Savings Bank.

May 25th

It was voted to instruct and authorize the Trustees to lease the lot on Clifton Boulevard next South from West School for two years for $120 per year with option for buying during this time at $2000 taxes during leasing period to be additional in case of purchase. Prior to this the Trustees acting in harmony with the action of the church May 9th contracted with Mr. Charles Manley of Michigan for a portable church, to be erected by July 1st.

August 17th

At a meeting held at the home of Mr. Bramley it was voted to instruct the Trustees and Pastor to meet with the Committee of the City Missionary Society to see to the financing and letting of a new contract for a church building in view of the failure of the first contractor to fulfill his agreement.

Later the Trustees contracted with Mr. G.A. Cook of Cleveland for a portable building. The board of Trustees of the City Missionary Society extended the credit of the Society an additional $1750. In behalf of the church the Trustees have given two notes to the Society which are on record in the Garfield Bank. December 15th the loans will be combined into one demand loan of $3000.

September 4th

The Pastor collected the five hundred dollars advance payment to Charles H. Manley with interest. Later the Missionary Society voted to pay the cost of collection.

Thanksgiving Day, Nov. 29, 1906.

The first religious service was held in the new building, a Thanksgiving service. The attendance was sixty. The following Sunday, the church began its regular work after summer's interruption because of delay in building. Services were held at the home of the Pastor from August to November. Sunday morning and prayer meetings were held Friday evenings at the home of Senior Deacon Bramley.

July 6, 1906

At a meeting at the home of the Pastor the following committees were appointed to further the church organization and work. The chairman of the committees were to select two other members.

Sunday School

Mrs. Allyn

(Mrs. H.C. Clark & Mrs. Reed


Mr. Clark

Current expense

Mr. Hoffman

The following were named for the building Committee: Messers. Wight and Reed, Mrs. Hoffman, Mrs. Wight and Mrs. Phelps. Mr. Monasmith was appointed Financial Secretary of the church. Later Mr. Clark assumed this responsibility and Mr. Monasmith the chairmanship of the music committee. It was voted that bimonthly meetings of the Board of Trustees and of the church committee be held in the interest of the church.

October 14th

The church named Miss Eddy and Mrs. Harvey as delegates to the Conference meeting the following week at Rockport.

October 17th

The delegates and Pastor invited the Conference to meet our church next April conditioned on the ratification by the church of the invitation.

December 2, 1906

The following special committees were appointed:

Dedication (Dec. 16th)

Messers. Hoffman & Monasmith, Mrs. Newell


Messers. Bramley, Newell and Clark

December 13

The committee reported and the church adopted the report electing the following officers:

Deacon for three years

Mr. Eddy

Deaconess for two years

Mrs. Dart

Trustee for three years

Mr. Wight


Mr. Hoffman


Mr. Newell

The church voted to receive into their fellowship:

By letter: B.A. Williams, Mrs. W.L. Webster

Mrs. Harvey B. Chappel (Rapha E)

Mr. and Mrs. J.A. Coad.

On Confession: Mrs. B.A. Williams

Rec'd Dec. 16, '16

Mrs. Sherwood

Sunday December 16, 1906

was observed as Dedication Sunday with Communion and REception of New Members in the morning and in the afternoon a special service when Dr. A.F. Bradley, Rev. H.F. Swartz and Mr. H. Clark Ford gave addresses. The attendance was large and the meetings inspiring.

At the midweek service Jan. 10 the following committees were named: On reorganizing the men of the church:

Messrs. Reed, Hoffman and Monasmith

On Annual Meeting to cooperate with Pastor:

Mrs. Reed, Eddy and Wight

Jan. 27 Mr. Monasmith was named as delegate to Dismissing Council in East Church

Feb. 7th


The first annual meeting deferred some weeks was held February 28th, 1907. Supper was served by the ladies of the church at 6:30 P.M. to a goodly company. Immediately after the meal the pastor called the gathering to order. Mr. and Mrs. J.M. Comstock and Misses Marie and June Rodier were voted into the membership. Mrs. Allyn read from Longfellow in commemoration of the Longfellow Anniversary.

The Pastor then called for a nomination of chairman for the meeting to follow. Mr. D.C. Reed was chosen. The clerk, Mr. Newell, read from the year's report. Mrs. Eddy, President of the Ladies Guild, reported for the Guild, showing a gratifying condition of that organization. Over $500 had been received and some $90 was the balance in the treasury.

The Pastor, Mr. Williams, gave his report. The census just compiled showed 420 families living within three quarters of a mile of the church of whom 84 seemed open to Congregational allegiance. The treasurer's report followed which was accepted. Dr. Sommers as a member of the committee from the City Missionary Society for our church spoke an earnest word for the work and the meeting closed with the singing of "Blest be the tie that binds."

July 21st, 1907

The following resolution was passed Sunday morning:

"We learn with regret of the illness of our Senior Deacon, Mr. Bramley. We have missed his genial presence, for he has peculiarly enriched our fellowship. We have appreciated his faithfulness and his trust in the Heavenly Father and we wish him to know of our appreciation.

We therefore would express to him and his family our sympathy and hopes for his speedy recovery and restoration to us in the work of the Master."

Deacon Monasmith was appointed committee to convey the resolution to Brother Bramley.

April 16-17, 1907

Cleveland Conference held its 54th Semi-annual meetings in our church and it proved a most interesting and successful meeting. A vote congratulating the church on the successful initiation of its work was passed.

December 1st, 1907

A special service was held on this the first anniversary of the occupancy of the church building.

December 8th, 1907

The following committee was named to nominate the officers for the election at the Annual Meeting which is to be held December 11th, Messrs. Monasmith, Newell and Wight were named.

At the close of the service the pastor read the following letter of resignation;

To the members of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood,

Dear Fellow Members:

November 1st, 1907

I relinquish the work of superintendency of the City Missionary Society in order to concentrate all my energies upon our work here. The dual relationship to which you and the Society called me, beginning in April 1906 thus ceased to exist and since a little over a month ago I have thus and the privilege and the joy of being wholly your pastor. But with the relinquishing of the superintendent's work my income has been reduced approximately one third. Some of you know that I could not plan permanently to live upon this reduced income, - but I have desired the privilege of giving all my time to the work for a while at least until our future as a church might seem assured. That future we believe is assured.

Our church has an unusual opportunity, one that any man well may covet to share with you in the taking. It is with real sorrow that I am led now to relinquish this work of minister to you and to this community, I confess to a feeling of jealousy when I think of another coming in to lead in the doing of this large work which assuredly is before you. A parent has a peculiar affection for his first born and a minister has a peculiar love for the first church he has fathered. Of the preciousness of our experience together I must forbear speaking, but the severing of this pastoral tie is for me the most difficult thing I yet have done in my pastoral experience.

For some time Mrs. Williams and I have been laboring over the question as to whether we ought to leave this work and each added day has added to the difficulty of the decision. We have been considering a call from Pilgrim Church, Knoxville, Tennessee. Because of the importance of that field, located in a University center, a very rapidly growing city, and considered one of the strategic churches for advancing at the present time the work of our Congregationalism in the awakening Southland, its appeal, coming as it has come unsolicited without our having visited them, has led us to believe that we ought to accept their call.

I should like to be realeased from the work here February 1st, 1908 and desire that action be taken by you with reference to the resignation at our Annual Meeting next Wednesday evening,

Your pastor,

Dec. 8,1907 Benjamin A. Williams

December 11,1907 Second Annual Meeting

Invitation to the Second Annual Meeting was restricted to Church Members, Guild Members and their husbands and regular subscribers to the church. About sixty gathered in response to the invitation. The ladies had prepared the collation in the main part of the church and the meeting proved the most interesting and important the church had ever held.

After supper at about 7:30 December 11,1907, the pastor Mr. Williams called the meeting to order and after a musical selection by Mr. Earl Grossman called for a nomination for chairman of the evening. Rev. A.J. Williamson was chosen. The clerk, Mr. Newell read the minutes of the last annual meeting which were approved. The nominating committee through the clerk reported the following amendments which report was received and amendments adopted.

The nominating committee reported the following names for the offices to be filled and their reports accepted and the balloting resulted in the election of the names proposed:


Mr. Lentz


Mrs. Sherwood

(to 1909)


Mr. Monasmith

for one year

Mr. Schneider

for one year

Mr. Webster

for two years

Mr. Barnes

for three years

Mr. Newell

for three years

S.S. Superintendant

Mr. Elliot

S.S. Committee

Mr. Elliot to select two others

Music Chairman

Mr. Hugh Allyn


Mr. Chappel


Mr. Edwards

Messrs. Williamson and Monasmith were elected the Annual Members to represent the church in the City Missionary Society. It was voted to instruct the Trustees to make application to the City Missionary Society for $500 aid for the year 1908 beginning January 1st.

The question of the pastor's resignation presented the previous Sunday was then considered. Mr. Williams stated again his sorrow over the necessity of his relinquishing the work but asked that the resignation be accepted. After expressions of regret on the part of the membership it was voted to accept and the following committee was named to express in the form of a resolution the appreciation of and affection for the pastor. Messrs. Hoffman, Schneider and Elliot was named as the committee.

After another selection by Mr. Grossman the following reports were given: Mrs. Harvey President of the Ladies Guild reported the Guild's excellent record of having made over $700, some $400 of which had gone into church furnishings. The report was accepted. Mr. Monasmith reported the Sunday School receipts as $75.20. A little over $1.00 was in the Treasury. The church Treasurer, Mr. Hoffman reported receipts, from the regular pledges and collection $618.16; from the Ladies Guild $150 and from all other sources $225 making a total of $993.16.

All bills were paid except $70 upon account pastor's salary which was covered by unpaid pledges. The total present obligation of the church counting the seventy dollars mentioned is $3620. $250 has been pledged by certain individuals to be paid this year toward liquidating one of the notes given by the Trustees due in January. The report of the Treasurer was accepted and his painstaking and business like administration of the office commended.

The Report of the S.S. Superintendent and Pastor followed in one, the pastor having been the superintendent since the beginning of the school in the present building a year ago. Since becoming full pastor of the church November 1st the congregation has increased to an average of near seventy. The benevolences have amounted to $45 with another offering yet to be taken. The S.S. attendance has risen to about eighty with a membership including the cradle roll of about 140. The course of study issued by the University of Chicago Press has been used with marked success. This and the special card system of keeping the records give the school a unique place among the schools of the city. The present list of officers and teachers is as follows:

Superintendent Mr. Elliott

Asst. Mr. Hoffman

Secretary Everett Judson

Treasurer Mr. Monasmith

Ass't. " Vernon Gage

Library Organized Mrs. Elliott

Superintendent Cradle

Roll Mrs. Sheldon

Superintendent Primary Mrs. Barnes

Teachers in Primary Two classes

Mrs. Barnes Mrs. Emerson Miss Bramley

Mrs. Saddler Mrs. Sheldon

Teachers in Main School Six classes

Class 3 Girls Miss Stoddard Grades 4 - 6

4 Boys Miss Eddy "

5 Boys Mr. Newell Grades 7 - 8

6 Girls "

7 Girls Mr. Schneider High School

8 Men Mr. L.C. Allyn

Substitute teachers: Class 3 Mr. Barnes

4 Mrs. Wight


6 Mrs. Schneider

7 Mr. Lentz

The parish now numbers almost a hundred families. The church membership has grown from the original 27 adults. The church has never lost a member.

This report was accepted. The question of securing a successor to the present pastor was then considered and the following named as committee to if possible secure without loss to time someone to take up the work. Messrs. Williamson, Reed, Newell, Schneider and Mrs. Clark and Mrs. Barnes were elected as such a committee.

Brief addresses by Superintendent C.H. Small, Dr. Fraser, and Mr. Henderson in behalf of the City Missionary Society were a very enjoyable part of the program.

The meeting adjourned after singing "Blest be the tie that binds" and prayer by the Pastor.

January 26, 1908

Voted that a letter of dismissal be granted to Rev. and Mrs. B.A. Williams and the Clerk instructed to forward same with recommendation to the Pilgrim Congregational Church of Knoxville, Tenn.

February 16, 1908

Voted that Mr. M.G. Monasmith represent this church at a meeting to be held at Hough Church on February 21, at 4:00 P.M.

March 29, 1908

Report of Commission, A.J. Williamson Chairman in favor of Ross W. Sanderson senior at Oberlin Theological Seminary called by unanimous vote. Salary to be $10.00 per Sunday until July 1st, 1908, $80.00 per month for July and August and thereafter $1200.00 per year.

April 12, 1908

Voted to have Mat Communion on April 19th in order that Dr. Small might officiate.

April 26, 1908

Voted to renew application for aid from City missionary society made at annual meeting.

May 10, 1908

Mr. Newell and Mr. Eddy elected delegates to the Congregational Ass'n of Ohio May 19 - 21, 1908, at Collinwood.

May 17, 1908

Mr. Williamson, Mr. Reed and Mr. Lentz elected as Committee to arrange for the ordination of the Pastor. Voted to refer matter of installation to this committee to report May 24.

May 24 - 28

Voted that the pastor be installed as well as ordained at such time as could be arranged.

July 5, 1908

Voted that Mrs. F.M. Schotten and Miss Della Schotten be received at the September Communion by letter from First Congregational Church of Collinwood, Ohio.

July 19, 1908

Chair to appoint three to nominate parties for vacant offices of M.G. Monasmith as Trustee and City Missionary member, Frank Elliot as Sunday School Superintendent and Mr. E.E. Lentz as Deacon. Mr. Reed, Mr. Barnes and Mrs. T.L. Wight being appointed.

July 26, 1908

Report of nominating committee follows, Mr. J.S. Coad for Trustee in Mr. Monasmith's place, to December 1908. Mr. C.A. Schneider to fill unexpired term of Mr. Lentz for Deacon, to December 1910 and a temporary arrangement for Sunday School Superintendent, Mr. Newell for the present.

September 13, 1908

Voted that pastor be authorized to appoint a committee of 2, not trustees. with power to solicit pledges to cover our apportionment for the American board, the National Home Missionary Society and the American Missionary Association with the understanding that such pledges were to be due January 1, 1909 and that no pledge for over $1.00 was to be solicited.

Voted that the following parties be accepted by Letter.

Ross W. Sanderson Plymouth Congregational Church

of Lansing Mich.

Mrs. Rose W. Sanderson Broadway Tabernacle

New York City

Mr. Clarence H. Judson Westminster Presbyterian Church

Mrs. Clarence H Judson Cleveland, Ohio.

Everett Judson

Mr. A. Griffith Wallace Washington St. Congregational

Mrs. A. Griffith Wallace Church of Toledo, Ohio

Mr. Reese Lindsay Lawrenceville Presbyterian

Reese W. Lindsay Church Pittsburgh, Pa.

Walter Lindsay

Vernon Cage Woodland Hills Ave. Methodist Episcopal

Church of Cleveland, Ohio

And on Confession

Herbert Stoddard

September 17, 1908

By vote under suspension of the rules

Miss Harriet L. Baldwin First Presbyterian Church

of Marietta, Ohio

Miss Georgiana Baldwin Second Presbyterian Church

of Zanesville, Ohio

September 20, 1908

At the regular September Communion the members voted for acceptance on September 5th, 13th and 17th were formally received.

September 24, 1908

Mrs. Ross W. Sanderson elected as delegate, with the Pastor to attend the Ecclesiastical Council at Hough Avenue Congregational Church Cleveland, on September 9th.

October 1, 1908

At the Thursday evening meeting, October 1, 1908, the choice of delegate to the council for the recognition of the Nottingham Church, to be held October 7th, 1908 was left to the discretion of the pastor. Mrs. Sanderson represented the Church at the council.

October 8, 1908

At the Thursday evening meeting Mrs. L. Sherwood and Mrs. R.M. Sanderson were elected as delegates to the 55th Annual meeting of the Cleveland Association of Churches and ministers, to be held at Brecksville, October 19th, and 20th, 1908.

October 22, 1908

Pastor authorized to appoint a nominating Committee of three to report nominations at annual meeting. Pastor appointed, Mr. Barnes, Mr. Newell and Mrs. Williamson.

November 19,1908

"At a special meeting held this date the by laws were amended as follows,

Art. V Sec. 1 Sub. Sec. 7 (1st sentence) to read as follows,

A board of seven (7) trustees, each selected for a term of three years. Three shall be elected for the term beginning December 1908, two for the term beginning December 1909 and two for the term beginning December 1910, thereafter the election shall be in similar rotation."

For the purposes of this amendment for the term expiring February 23, 1909 is not considered,

It is understood that one of the trustees elected in 1908 will not take office until February 23, 1909.

H.B. Chappell, Clerk

December 1, 1908

The third annual meeting of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio was held in the church, supper was served at 6:30 P.M. Every available chair was occupied. Besides the members there were present:

Rev. C.L. Parker

Collinwood, Ohio

Rev. Chas. H. Lemmon

North Church

Prof. G.W. Fiske

Oberlin, Ohio

Rev. Chas. H. Small

Pilgrim Church

H. Clark Ford

Pres. of the C.M.S

All of the guests spoke briefly at the conclusion of the supper.

The business session was called to order at 8:15 after a prayer by the pastor, Mr. C.E. Newell was elected Chairman. The reports of the following officers were accepted, Church Clerk, Church Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Chairman of Board of Trustees, President of the Ladies Guild, Sunday School Superintendent, President of C.E. Sir Pendragon, K.O.K.A. and Pastor.

The following amendments to the bylaws were adopted Art V, sect. 1, Sub sec. (3) to read Three (3) deaconesses: in 1908, one shall be elected for a term of two years, and one for a term of three years: there after the term of office shall be for three years,

To strike out Art V: sect.2, sub. sect (10)

The report of the nominating committee was adopted as follows

The nominating Committee beg leave to submit the following report:

Deaconess, 3 year term, Mrs. Shotten

Deaconess, 2 year term, Mrs. Eddy

Deacon C.H. Judson

Deacon Emeritus, L. Bramley


D.C. Reed

J.F. Coad

Chas. Schneider

Treasurer George Humphreys

Clerk A.G. Wallace

Sunday School Superintendent C.H. Judson

Music Committee

D.C. Reed, Chairman Representing Board Trustees

Mrs. Clark " Ladies Guild

C.E. Newell " Sunday School

Members of C.M.S.

Rev. A.J. Williamson

Mr. C.E. Newell

Respt. Submitted

O.R. Barnes

The budget for 1908-09 was presented by the pastor. Adjournment was taken after prayer by Dr. Dan Bradley.


H.B. Chappel


List of Officers December 1, 1908

Deacons: - G.H. Eddy until Dec. 1909

C.S. Schneider Until Dec. 1910

C.H. Judson " Dec. 1911

Deaconesses: - Mrs. F.M. Schotten until 1911

Mrs. G.H. Eddy " 1910

Mrs. L. Sherwood " 1909

Trustees - T.L. Wight Until Dec. 1909

C.S. Schneider until Dec. 1911

D.C. Reid " Dec. 1911

J.F. Coad " Dec. 1911

W.L. Webster " Dec. 1909

C.E. Newell " Dec. 1910

O.R. Barnes " Dec. 1910

Clerk - A.G. Wallace

Treasurer - G.S. Humphreys

Superintendent S.S. - C.H. Judson

Pres. C.E. Soc. - A.G. Wallace

Pres. Ladies Guild - Mrs. H.H. Allyn

The Church Committee

Dec. 1, 1908 to Dec. 1, 1909


G.H. Eddy - Deacon

C.S. Schneider - Deacon

C.H. Judson - Deacon & S.S. Supt.

G.S. Humphreys - Treasurer

A.G. Wallace - Clerk

January 3, 1909

Voted that Mr. Henry C. Baldwin and Mrs. Mary Louisa Baldwin be received at the next Communion service, by letter from the First Presbyterian Church of Cleveland, Ohio.

January 31, 1909

Voted that letter of dismissal be granted to Mrs. W. Elmer to Lakewood Christian Church.

April 11, 1909

Voted that Mr. Cleveland R. Cross be received by letter from Plymouth Congregational Church of Cleveland, Mrs. Ruth Adah Cross by letter from the First Congregational Church of Moline, Ill., and Mr. Walter A. Heinrich by confession.

October 21, 1909

Request for letters by Rev. A.J. Williamson, Mrs. Williamson and Ruth Williamson to Eastwood Congregational Church Columbus, Ohio, granted by vote of the church. The resignation of Rev. Ross W. Sanderson as pastor, which was tendered Oct. 16, 1909 following a call to the First Congregational Church of Sandusky, Ohio was carefully discussed and after many expressions of regret and good will by those present, was accepted by vote of the church.

October 29, 1909

A farewell reception was tendered by the ladies of the church to Rev. and Mrs. Sanderson on Friday evening, Oct. 29, 1909 at the church. We were favored with solos by Mrs. Stone and recitations by Mrs. Allyn. Luncheon was served after which our retiring pastor made a farewell address.

December 3, 1909

Fourth Annual Meeting

The Fourth Annual Meeting of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio was held at the church, the business session being called at 8:30 P.M.

Mr. Schneider was elected Chairman pro tem. Meeting was opened with prayer by Deacon Eddy. Following reports were read and accepted: - Church Clerk, Church Treasurer, Financial Secretary President Board of Trustees President Ladies Guild and Sunday School Superintendent. Then reports as a whole were commented upon as being very encouraging, those of the Ladies and S.S. Supt. being of special interest. We then listened to two talks by representatives of the City Mission Society, Mr. Henderson and Mr. McGeorges, which proved to be very encouraging, interesting, and helpful, as well as full of sound advice. A general discussion followed upon the question of a new pastor. It was voted that the present committee on pulpit supply be authorized to call a permanent pastor, their decision of course being passed upon by the church and C.M. Society before any action is taken.

Request for letters of dismissal by Rev. and Mrs. Sanderson granted by vote of church and Clerk instructed to forward same.

Report of Nominating Committee for Church Officers was read and voted as follows, a suspension of Art. V - Sec. 1 - Sub. Sec. 3 (see foot note) being previously voted in the case of Mr. Eddy: -

Sunday School Superintendent - Mr. C.H. Judson

1st. Asst. S. School - Mr. C.R. Cross

2nd " S. " - Mr. B.A. Rydman

Deacon (3 yr. term) - Mr. G.H. Eddy

Deaconess (3 yr. term) - Mrs. T.L. Wight

Trustee (3 yr. term) - Mr. R. Lindsay

" (3 yr. term) - Mr. C.R. Cross

Church Clerk - Mr. A.G. Wallace

Church Treas. - Mr. G.S. Humphreys

Member of C.M. Society - Mr. C.E. Newell

Member of C.M. Society - Mr. C.S. Schneider

Music Committee - Mr. H.H. Allyn

Music Committee - Miss Sadie Eddy

Music Committee - Miss Bernice Bramley

Voted to adjourn





Members Dec. 1, 1908





Rec'd by confession




Received by letter








Dismissed by letter













Present membership




Number of infants baptized


See page 291 for complete list of members and addresses

Deacons: - C.S. Schneider until Dec. 1910

C.H. Judson " Dec. 1911

J.H. Eddy " Dec. 1912

L. Bramley, Emeritus

Deaconesses: - Mrs. G.H. Eddy until Dec. 1910

Mrs. F.M. Schotten until Dec. 1911

Mrs. T.L. Wight " Dec. 1912

Trustees: - C.E. Newell " Dec. 1910

O.R. Barnes " Dec. 1910

C.S. Schneider " Dec. 1911

D.C. Reid " Dec. 1911

J.F. Coad " Dec. 1911

R. Lindsey " Dec. 1912

C.R. Cross " Dec. 1912

List of Officers and Committees - Sont.

Clerk - A.G. Wallace

Treasurer - G.S. Humphreys

Superintendent S.S., - C.H. Judson

1st Asst. Supt. S.S. - C.R. Cross

2nd " ' S.S. - B.A. Rydman

Pres. Ladies Guild - Mrs. H.H. Allyn

Members C.M.S. - See Page 44

Music Committee - See Page 44

Church Committee - Same as last year, see Page 44


January 2, 1910

At meeting of Church following Morning Service it was voted, after a general discussion of the recommendation of the committee previously appointed for the purpose, that we vote by ballot upon calling Rev. E.E. Scovill as pastor of this church for a period of one year.

The result of that ballot was unanimous call to Rev. Scovill.

January 16, 1910

Voted that letters be granted to Mr. and Mrs. J.M. Comstock to the St. Clair Street Methodist Church.

Voted that church ratify action of Board of Trustees in asking for aid from the C.M.S. to the amount of $600.00 for the year 1910.

February 27, 1910

Voted that Mr. and Mrs. J.S. Davis Howard and Sidney Davies be received into membership by letter.

Voted Rev. E.E. Scovill, Mrs. Scovill, Neal N. and Ernest R. Scovill be received into membership by letter.

March 20, 1910

Voted that Mr. G.H. Eddy act as delegate to ordination of Rev. John W. Kuyper as pastor of the Denison Avenue Congregational Church, Cleveland, Ohio.

May 22, 1910

Voted that our pastor act as delegate to attend an ecclesiastical council at the Hough Avenue Congregational Church Cleveland, Ohio on May 26, 1910 to consider resignation of Rev. Ira J. Houston as pastor.

June 26, 1910

Voted that Mr. and Mrs. F. Melville Lewis and Mrs. J.F. Wood be received into membership by letter.

August 13, 1910

Voted that Mr. and Mrs. Taylor be received into membership by letter.

August 7, 1910

Voted that Mrs. L. Sherwood be granted a letter of dismissal at her request.

November 13, 1910

Voted that Mr. & Mrs. Z. Taylor be received into membership by letter.

December 8, 1910

Meeting of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood was held at the Church, Friday evening January 6, 1911. The business session was called to order at 8:30 P.M. by the pastor. Mr. O.R. Barnes was elected Chairman pro tem by acclamation.

The following reports were read and accepted by vote of the church - President of Board of Trustees, Treasurer, Financial Secretary, Ladies Guild, S.S. Secretary, S.S. Lot Fund Secretary.

December 8, 1910

At a special meeting held at church Thursday December 8, 1910, 8 P.M. it was decided upon recommendation of advisory committee to purchase lot for new building 100' by 169' at corner of Detroit and West Clifton. Also voted to ratify action taken December 8.

The Fifth Annual Meeting of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood was held at the Church, Friday evening, January 6, 1911.

The business session was called to order at 8:30 P.M. by the pastor. Mr. O.R. Barnes was elected to chairman pro tem by acclamation.

The following reports were read and accepted:- Church Clerk, President Board of Trustees, Treasurer, Financial Secretary, President Ladies Guild, S.S. Secretary, S.S. Lot Fund Secretary and S.S. Superintendent. Much matter of interest was contained in these reports, which were filed with the Clerk.

Voted that we ask C.M.S. for $500.00 for the year 1911.

Voted that we request newly elected officers to be present next Sunday January 8, 1911 to hear an installation service in the morning.

In an informal talk, Mr. Scovill reviewed the work of the church and S.S. for the past year and spoke of the future outlook.

Voted that a committee of five be appointed to arrange for a mass meeting to raise fund for a new lot.

Mr. C.R. Cross was appointed Chairman of above committee and it was voted that he be authorized to select the balance of the committee.

Voted that Rev. Scovill's contract be extended for a period of one year.

Report of the Nominating Committee for Church Officers for ensuing year, was read and voted as follows: -

Clerk - Mr. A.G. Wallace

Treasurer - Mr. George S. Humphrey

Deacon - Mr. C.S. Schneider

Deaconess - Mrs. G.H. Eddy

Trustees - Mr. C.E. Newell

- Mr. F.C. Luff

Music Committee - Mr. H.H. Allyn

- Mrs. C.S. Schneider

- Miss Sadie Eddy

S.S. Supt. - Mr. B.A. Rydman

Members C.C.M.S. - Mr. C.E. Newell

- Mr. J.S. Davies

Adjournment was had without the formality of a vote.

Mr. F.C. Luff was subsequently elected, by Board of Trustees, as Financial Secretary to assist Mr. Humphreys.

Membership of church - Jan. 1, 1911





Members Dec. 3, 1909





Received by letter







Dismissed by letter










Deaths - 0

Baptisms - 3

Marriages - 5

List of Officers and Committees for 1911

Deacons: - C.H. Judson until Jan. 1, 1912

G.H. Eddy " Jan. 1, 1913

C.S. Schneider " Jan. 1, 1914

Deaconesses: - Mrs. F.M. Schotten until Jan. 1, 1912

Mrs. T.L. Wight " Jan. 1, 1913

Mrs. G.H. Eddy " Jan. 1, 1914

Trustees: - C.S. Schneider until Jan. 1, 1912

D.C. Reid " Jan. 1, 1912

J.F. Coad " Jan. 1, 1912

R. Lindsey Sr. " Jan. 1, 1913

C.R. Cross " Jan. 1, 1913

C.E. Newell " Jan. 1, 1914

F.C. Luff " Jan. 1, 1914

Clerk - A.G. Wallace

Treasurer - George S. Humphreys

Supt. S.S. - B.A. Rydman

Pres. Ladies Guild Mrs. Emerson

Members C.M.S. - C.E. Newell

J.S. Davies

Music Committee - H.H. Allyn

Mrs. C.S. Schneider

Sadie Eddy

Church Committee - C.H. Judson

G.H. Eddy

C.S. Schneider

George S. Humphreys

Rev. Scovill

A.G. Wallace

February 2, 1911

Special Meeting and Dinner at Church for the purpose of opening campaign for lot fund.

A splendid repast prepared by the Ladies Guild and served by the young people was enjoyed by a large number of members and friends.

Rev. Scovill then called the business session to order and after a general introduction to the work in hand, called upon Rev. Rothrock, representing the C.C.M.S., Mr. F.M. Lewis and Mr. C.R. Cross, who responded with short talks upon the new church project. Mr. Cross presented the report of committee who arranged this meeting and suggested a plan of action.

Voted that the committee composed of Messrs. C.R. Cross, Chairman, F.M. Lewis, Reese Lindsey, Sr., C.E. Newell and D.C. Reed be continued in service in order to devise and carry out plan of action for lot fund campaign and that its chairman be authorized to enlarge the committee by appointing additional members sufficient to handle the work in hand.

A vote of thanks was tendered the Ladies Guild and their able assistants for the splendid dinner and to Mr. D.C. Reed for the beautiful floral decorations.

Voted to adjourn.

February 26, 1911

Voted that Mrs. Maud Sheldon, Miss Mary S. Sheldon, Mrs. L.M. Szrivitsky and Mrs. Mayme V. Oswald received by letter.

March 12, 1911

Voted that Mrs. Alice M. Sheldon, Miss Mabel Ruth Sheldon, Mrs. Kate Riddler, Earl Riddler, Dorothy Riddler, Mr. Lambert Meermans and Mrs. Emma L. Clark be received upon confession of faith.

Voted that Mrs. L. Meermans and Mr. Howard Meermans be received by letter.

June 25, 1911

Voted that Mr. and Mrs. Thos Atkinson be received, the former by letter, the latter by confession of faith.

Tuesday December 5, 1911

A special meeting of church members was called to order at 8:30 P.M.

Mr. Cross, President Board of Trustees, announced purpose of meeting as follows:

First to take action upon resignation of our pastor. Second to consider the organization of a Congregational Church Society.

Resignation of pastor was then read. After many expressions of regret it was,

Moved that the resignation of our pastor, Rev. E.E. Scovill be accepted. Seconded. In the discussion which followed many tributes of respect for the high character, spiritual vision and earnest endeavor of our pastor were expressed. The church situation, Rev. Scovill's resignation, finances and the proposed Church Society were freely and frankly discussed. By request Mr. Cross read abstracts from the Constitution and By-Laws of Pilgrim Church Society.

Question voted.

Moved that the Board of Trustees prepare a specific statement of what assistance may be expected from Pilgrim Church, that this statement together with a draft of proposed constitution and by-laws for a church society be submitted to Church at a meeting Sunday Dec. 10, 1911, for further consideration votes.

Moved that Mr. F.M. Lewis and Mr. C.R. Cross act as a committee on pulpit supply. Voted.

Moved that a committee of three be appointed by the chair to make recommendations in regard to a new pastor. Voted. Mr. Taylor, Mr. Lewis and Mr. Newell appointed.

Motion to adjourn. Voted.

December 10, 1911

Minutes of meeting held at Church December 5, 1911, approved.

Moved that a committee of three be appointed to proceed to organize a Church Society along the lines of the Pilgrim Church Society Constitution, revising our Church manual and By-Laws to conform with same. Voted unanimously.

Moved that committee of five be appointed to proceed with Church Society instead of committee of three as designated in previous motion. Voted.

Moved to adjourn, Voted.

January 21, 1912

Voted that letters of dismissal be granted, in accordance with their request to Mr. and Mrs. O.R. Barnes and Mr. and Mrs. W.L. Webster. Voted

The Sixth Annual Meeting of the First Congregational Church of Lakewood was held at the Church Wednesday January 21, 1912.

The business session was called to order at 8:15 P.M. by Mr. C.R. Cross President Board of TRustees, who acted as Chairman pro tem.

Minutes of the last annual meeting read by Clerk. Upon the suggestion of the chairman, the reading of the minutes of all other business meetings of the past year as well as the statistics in detail was omitted.

Voted that the minutes be adopted after substituting the word "lot" for "Church" in minute at bottom of page 49, this record.

Following reports were heard and accepted: - Financial Sec., Treasurer (given verbally by Mr. Cross), Pres. of Ladies Guild, and S.S. Secretary.

With the acceptance of the guild report a vote of thanks was tendered the Ladies for their very efficient work.

The question of organizing a C.E. Society was raised by Mr. Judson and discussed formally.

Voted that the Church heartily endorse the organization of a Y.P.S.C.E.

Mr. Lewis announced the organization of the Church Choir,

Voted that Mr. F.M. Lewis be appointed publicity man for the Church.

Report of Committee appointed to revise church Manual to accommodate the new Church Society organization was then submitted as follows,

F. Melville Lewis Grace Schwab

Mrs. F. Melvill Lewis Eleanor Bramley

Mr. H.C. Baldwin Mrs. H.N. Hill

J.W. Russell Marjorie Tolle

Mabel D. Beebe Virgil A. Rydam

Annie Jeanette Beebe Victor Hill

Mrs. Mary L. Baldwin Clarence Meermans

Beatrice Tolle Mrs. G.H. Eddy

Mr. and Mrs. Perry Tolle Mr. G.H. Eddy

Alvin Tolle Mrs. Thomas Aitchison

Mrs. F.P. Lamb Jack Lamb

Mrs. J. Schwab Jennie Schwab

Charles Aitchison

January 8, 1913

The seventh Annual Meeting of the Church was held at the church Wednesday evening January 8, 1913 at 8 o'clock P.M. The meeting was opened with the singing of a hymn and prayer by the Pastor. It was unanimously resolved that the Pastor should serve as moderator of the meeting.

The report of the Clerk was read and approved.

The Treasurer's report was read and accepted and placed in file.

The report of the Sunday School Superintendent was read and accepted.

The report of Ernest Scovill, Manager of the Promoter, was received and accepted, and a vote of thanks offered for his work in connection with the Church.

Mr. Smith presented his annual report as Pastor of the church and the same was accepted and placed on file.

Thereupon the Moderator called for nominations for Church Clerk, and the name of Mr. Neal Scovill was placed in nomination. By unanimous vote the nominations were closed. By unanimous vote the rules were cast aside and the Clerk authorized to name Mr. Scovill as elected Church Clerk for the ensuing year.

In like manner, Mr. Z. Taylor was chosen as Sunday School Superintendent, and Mr. F.C. Luff elected as Church Treasurer.

In like manner Mr. G. H. Eddy was chosen Deacon and Mrs. T. l. Wight as Deaconess.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was resolved that the Church Committee should serve as Committee upon Benevolence.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was resolved that Messrs. C.E. Newell and C.R. Cross should serve as the representatives of the church in the Congregational Union.

The reports all showed that excellent progress had been made in various lines of activity.

Following the reports came the election of officers for the ensuing year.

On motion, duly seconded it was voted to increase the number of deacons to six and the following named were chosen.

G.H. Eddy - Deacon Emeritus

For one year - C.E. Newell

For two years - A.H. Bowlzer

For three years - J.D. Hartman

- J.L. Davies

For Treasurer - J.C. Luff

For Clerk - Howard Meermans

For Sunday School Supt. Z. Taylor

On motion, duly seconded the meeting adjourned,

Howard Merriman

Clerk - Pro tem

June 28, 1914

Letter granted First Presbyterian Church

June 28, 1914 Chas. W. Blake, Minister

Residence - 5919 Clephane Ave.,

Madisonville, Ohio

Rev. Dr. Scoville

Dear Brother:

I am authorized to request a letter of dismissal in behalf of Mr. F.E. Elliott and his wife Mrs. Florence C. Elliot from First Congregational Church of Lakewood, Ohio to unite with First Presbyterian Church of Madisonville, Ohio. Hoping this may receive prompt attention I remain,

Fraternally Yours,

Chas. W. Blake

Thursday evening March 25, 1915

On the following pages are the names of those who attended the last meeting in the old church - the portable chapel standing back of the site of the new building -

It was a reminiscence meeting - Several of the charter members "reminisced" Messrs Newell, Wright and Reed, Mrs. Newell, Miss Bramley, Mrs. Beebe, Mrs. Eddy - We sang hymns - "I love the Church of God" etc., closed with prayer and Mr. J.W. Russell and R. P. Tolle took flash pictures of the company -

It was a splendid meeting

Dora E. Hill Samuel P. Fetzer

Mrs. W.G. Dart Margeret D. Fetzer

Marie Dart Helen H. Wight

Esther J. Schwab Julia A. Smith

B.A. Rydam Florence Meermans

Norval J. Rydam Earl L. Wenger

Lucy J. Rydam Elinow D. Chase

George W. Rydam Richard R. Ludolph

Eliza J. Rydman C.R. Cross

Mrs. W.E. Bidlingmyer Mrs. Reese Lindsay

Mrs. Sara Eddy Milott Mrs. Anna F. Town

Mrs. Louis Fox Howard LeTown

F.W. Fox Pearl Long

Bertha A. Bollman Raymond Meermans

Alvar Bollman Maud Long

Herbert E. Avery Mr. W.R. Long

Ella M. Bowlzer Mrs. W.R. Long

Hershey Shannon Mrs. George LeGrande Smith

Ruth A. Cross Mrs. E.R. Emmerson

Mr. G.A. Church Kenneth D. Newell)came to meeting

and Son Harrison Phillip Ranny )but had to go home

Mrs. George A. Church )too early to sign

Howard Meermans James F. Coad

G.L. Wight Mrs. Lucy R. Coad

Charles E. Lenrel G. LeGrand Smith - Pastor

D.C. Reed A.H. Bowlzer

Jennie M. Reed

Helen Bassett Newell

Sunday March 28, 1915


Sunday School and congregation transferred to the new building and held their first sessions therein. Sunday School met in old building and marched in procession to the new; Superintendent and Pastor (Z. Taylor and G. LeGrand Smith) leading, followed by beginners and others in order. Line of march included the balconies of the gymnasium, which has been completed first, to be used for all services until the superstructure is completed.

Present at the services: S.S. 267; Morning Worship 281; Evening 120. It was indeed a "Triumphal Entry". No formal dedicatory services at this time - Rev. L.H. Royce Secy. Cleveland of the Congregational Unions was at the morning services and divided time with the Pastor. Pastor spoke from Neh 4:6.

Signed - G. LeGrand Smith, Pastor

Sunday April 4, 1915

First Easter in the new building Attendance S.S. 320; Communion 340; Evening 210. Received to membership at communion, 26 persons - 13 on Confession. Baptisms 4 adults. 4 infants, - Mary Louise Judson in whose name a baptismal book was presented by her parents Mr. and Mrs. C.H. Judson; Linn L. Collins Jr. Chas Collins sons of Mr. and Mrs. L.L. Collins; Marcus Loomis Smythe, son of Mr. and Mrs. Smythe; Adult baptisms: Howard L. Town; Linn L. Collins, Dr. Otto H. Reisser, Phillip T. Panney and Mrs. Judith Ranney. The last name did not join the church.

Members received were:

Mr. and Mrs. Linn L. Collins, Margaret Gann, Mr. and Mrs. Walter R. Geshan, Kenneth D. Newell, Phillip Tiebolt Ranney, David Clifford Reed, Otto H. Russer, Bernice I. Russell, Howard L. Town. Monabelle Town, Clifford Rowe Wight, Mr. and Mrs. I. Edwin Avery, Florence Avery, Herbert Avery, Misses Mary, Martha and Clara Dombrosky, Wm. Faragher, Mrs. Wm. Faragher, Miss Maud Faragher; Miss Florence Janke, Mr. and Mrs. Ernest Kinnison.

Signed - G.L. Smith, Pastor

Annual meeting April 6, 1915

Postponed from Wednesday Jan. 13 on account of coming into new building.

This was the first annual meeting in the new church building corner Detroit Avenue and West Clifton Boulevard and a joyful occasion it truly was. Supper was served by the Ladies Guild at 6:30 P.M. About 160 persons sat down to tables bountifully furnished and beautifully decorated. Excellent service was given by the young men and women of the church.

At the close of supper the meeting was called to order by the Pastor who was chosen Moderator.

In the absence of the clerk the minutes of the last meeting was omitted.

First in order of business was the reading of reports of the work of 1914 in order as follows:

Treasurer Report - Mr. F.C. Luff

Sunday School - Mr. Z. Taylor, Supt.

Ladies Guild - Mrs. H.N. Hill, Pres.

Lincoln Club - Ralph Sheldon, Pres.

Hearthside Circle - Miss Pearl Long, Pres.

Mayflower Friendship club - Mrs. M.D. Beebe, Secy.

Boy Scouts - Howard Meermans, Scoutmaster

Remarks by the Pastor were made with reference to the appointment of benevolences, and upon motion duly seconded, the appointment allotted to the Church was accepted.

Upon motion duly seconded, it was resolved that Mrs. D.C. Reed should serve as Church Historian and prepare a History of the Church.

Upon motion duly seconded, the meeting adjourned.

Neal N. Scovill _____________

Secretary Chairman



Celebratin the final payment on its $80,000 church debt, Lakewood Congregational Church will burn its mortgage in a special service tomorrow morning at 10:45.

The record of debt payment goes back almost to the moment of ground breaking for the large, red brick, Early American church at Detroit Ave and W. Clifton Boulevard in 1913, Rev. Everett W. McNair, pastor, disclosed. In 1920 the congregation raised $100,000 in ten days for the building fund. Now the church property is valued at $219,000, the pastor said.

At the service tomorrow a number of the 27 charter members of the church will be honored. Rev. McNair will speak on "These Hallowed Walls."



This church was revived and reorganized in 1835, but very little can be said touching its early history. Its existence was limited to a few years, and the records of those years are lost.

The church was revived and reorganized, however, on the 24th of July, 1859, when Benjamin Mastick, Russell Hawkins, Lydia Hawkins, Louisa Tricket, Mary C. Kinney, Silas Gleason, Andrew Kyle and Susannah Kyle compromised the number who were received into membership. The first deacons under reorganization were Ezra Bassett and Silas Gleason, and the first pastor was Rev. N. Cobb. His successors were Revs. J.B. Allen, E.T. Fowler, O.W. White, and E.H. Votaw, the latter being the pastor in charge in July 1, 1879, when the membership was thirty-five.

In October, 1869, the church dissolved the connection which it had previously maintained with the Presbyterian organization, and was taken into the Sullivan, Ohio Congregational Association. The church building now in use was erected in 1861. The present trustees are L.A. Palmer, William Andrews, and A. Barter: the deacons, William Andrews and A. Barter; the clerk B. Barter.



W.R. COATES -- Volume I, Pg. 178

The First Congregational Church was organized as early as 1835, but no record is preserved of that period. It lapsed. In 1859 it was reorganized with the following members: Banjamin Mastick, Russell Hawkins, Lydia Hawkins, Louisa Trinket, Mary C. Kinney, Silas Gleason, Lebrina Gleason and Anna and Susanna Kyle. The first deacons were Ezra Bassett and Silas Gleason, and the first pastor, Rev. N. Cobb. Other ministers in the early history have been Revs. J.B. Allen, E.T. Fowler, O.W. White, E.H. Votaw. In 1869 it left the Presbyterian Association, with which it had been connected, and joined the Ohio Congregational Association. A church building was erected in 1861. L.A. Palmer, William Andrews, A. Barter and B. Barter have severed as officers of the early church.



As many of the New England churches, Lakewood Congregational is colonial in style of architecture. Huge Doric columns are the distinctive mark of the entrance of the brick structure. A balcony surrounds three sides of the main auditorium, which is accessible from the main entry in decoration is noticible throughout. White woodwork with oak trimmings and blue carpets and hangings make surroundings--here conductive to worship. Other rooms on the main floor are an entrance lobby, a ladies parlor and a young people's class room. On the ground floor, the entrance to which is one West Clifton blvd., there are several class rooms, gynasium, bowling alleys, kitchen, serving room, custodian's quarters, storage rooms and furnace room are in the basement. On teh second and third floors are boy's club rooms, a spacious room for the Men's Forum and a large meeting room for the church school work.

In the Indiana Survey of Churches, compiled a short time ago by Dean Ahearn of Boston University, Lakewood Congragational church was cited as ideally quipped for the type of work it was seeking to do.



Rev. Arthur E. Pritchett of Sandusky had accepted the post of rector of Advent Episcopal Church, Delaware and Woodward Avenue, Lakewood, it was announced yesterday.

Re. Pritchett will conduct his first services at Advent Sunday morning, celebrating holy communion at 8 and 11 a.m. During the last year he has served as curate of Grace Episcopal Church, Sandusky, of which Rev. Donald Wonders is rector. Rev. Mr. Pritchett was graduated from Bexley Hall, Gambier, O., in 1941, and from Kenyon College in 1938. He and his wife will live at 2280 Ogontz Avenue, Lakewood.



Resignation of Rev. Royden Mott, rector since 1939 of Advent Episcopal Church, Delaware and Lakewood Avenues was announced yesterday by church officials. Rev. Mr. Mott is resigning both his pulpit and his orders in the Episcopal Church. The resignation was effective yesterday.

On Sunday morning Arch-deacon B.B. Comer Lile of the Episcopal Diocese of Ohio will read to the parish a statement from Mr. Mott, setting forth reasons for his resignation. Mr. Mott is leaving the Episcopal Church to enter the Catholic Church.

Since coming here from a parish in Minnesota, Mr. Mott has served as Protestant chaplain at County Jail. During the last year he has been president of the West Side Clericus, composed of Episcopal clergy having West Side churches.



The third in point of time to claim the attention of Lakewood citizens was the Church of Ascension (Episcopal). This church had its inception in the early days of the sparsely settled section now known as Lakewood and an organization was effected and a structure built for church services soon after people settled along what is now known as Detroit Avenue.

At First a small building was erected on the present lot at 13218 Detroit, but it was well up on the front of the lot and was later moved to the rear in the hope that some day a handsome edifice might adron the street elevation.

The first church structure was erected in 1876, and the corner stone bears that inscription. Dr. Brown, rector of Trinity Chapel--which organization fostered this new mission--was present and participated in the laying of the corner stone.

The first rector was Rev. Backus, who is since deceased. After he left the work Mr. Henry Ranney, a lay reader, held services until Rev. Lewis Burton came to minister in 1881. He continued with the church for several years: was followed in the ministration by Mr W.R. Israel, in deacons' orders; then by Rev. T.C. Rucker, Rev. Francis Mason Hall, Rev. Earnest Kraft, Rev. William Sheperd, Rev. George Frederick Williams and Rev. W.A. Thompson, who dies in the work a few months ago.

The church was originally a mission from Trinity, and Mrs. Mary Scranton Bradford gave it her especial support. She donated the present church site, encouraged the congregation to raise $1500 and then gave what was lacking to complete the original church edifice.



While others were forming churches in Rockport, the Episcopalians were doing their part. A mission was started, assisted by members of Trinity Chapel in Cleveland, and in 1875, a small building was erected. The first rector was the Reverend Backus. About forty years later the present beautiful building was erected on the same spacious grounds.



W.R. COATES -- Volume I, Pg. 180

One other church seems to belong to the early history of Rockport, and that is the Church of the Ascension, Episcopal. This, a chapel of Trinity Parish, Cleveland, was opened in 1875 and dedicated in 1879 by Bishop Bedell.

It ws opened with Rev. J.W. Brown of Trinity as its first rector and Charles P. Ranney of Cleveland as its first lay reader, and started with an attendence of fifty persons.



Pg. 507-508

This edifice which bears the above name, is a chapel of Trinity parish of Cleveland. It was opened for worship in 1875, and was consecrated on Ascension Day, 1879, by Bishop Bedell. Rev. J.W. Brown, D.D., of Trinity, is the rector, and Mr. Charles P. Ranney, of Cleveland, is the lay reader in charge. The communicants number sixteen, and the attendants about fifty.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 7, 1918, Pg. 14

The church of the Ascension was one of the first churches in Lakewood on Detroit Avenue, it being organized when the population was small and scattered.

The first church was built on the present site in 1876 under Dr. Brown, rector of Trinity Chapel, now the cathedral and was for years a mission of Tirnity. The first rector was Rev. Backus; then Mr. Henry Ranney, a lay reader, held services until Rev. Lewis Burton came to minister to the church in 1881. after several yeaers he was followed by Mr. W.R. Tareal in deacon's orders, now Bishop of Eris, and with the American troops in France. Then followed Rev. T.C. Rucker, Rev. Francis Hall, Rev. E. Kraft, Rev. William Shepherd, Rev. G.F. Williams, who was rector about twelve years; on his resignation, Rev. W.A. Thompspn was called and was with the parish until his death, a period of three years.

After a short interim, the present rector, Rev. Wallace M. Gordon, was called, and took up the work in December, 1914. In 1915, a campaign for a new church was undertaken and funds were raised. the church, a beautiful structure, is now almost completed and it is hoped the congregation will soon be using it.

The congregations have increased as well as the Sunday school and the various organizations, and with thorough harmony in the parish, the future is most hopefull.


THE LAKEWOOD PRESS - Sept. 12, 1918 Page 6

The church of the Ascension on Detroit Avenue, opposite Grace avenue, of which Rev. W.M. Gordon is pastor, will be dedicated with appropriate and most interesting ceremonies Sunday, September 15. Right Rev. Bishop William A. Leonard of Cleveland will officiate.

The Bishop will advance to the door of the new church edifice, and striking upon i t with his pastoral staff, he will demand admittance. The vestry of the church, headed by senior and junior wardens, will thereupon open the doors, in response to the bishop's knock. The bishop, followed by the rector of the parish, with the wardens, vestry and choir, will proceed up the center aisle. The bishop and the congregation will alternate in reading the impressive words of the psalms 120 and 121. Arriving at the chancel steps, teh cestry will await the bishop's instructions.

This ceremony will be followed by the services of the benediction, after which holy communion will be celebrated. Bishop Leonard will preach the sermon.

This church is the newest and one of the handsomest in the city. A notable feature in its construction is the unusual number of memorials that have been plaved in the new edifice. This is the official list, furnished by Rev. Mr. Gordon, the rector:

Organ, given by Woman's Guild of the Church of Ascension.

Endowment of altar guild, given by Harry McCullough in memory of Kathryn Miller McCullough.

Altar and reredos, given by Mrs. william A. Thompson in memory of Rev. William Ashton Thompson, late rector of the church.

Pulpit, given by Mrs. F.W. Stecher and Robert Stecher in memory of Frederick W. Stecher.

Altar rail, given by Dr. and Mrs. A.N. Dawson in memory of Rev. Arthur Mann Backus and Rev. William C. Dawson.

Marble tile floor, given by Mrs. John W. Gordon in memory of John W. Gordon.

Altar cross, given by Mrs. S.A. Miller in memory of Abram Miller, Frderick Miller and Clara M. Hall.

Altar vases, given by the Altar Guild in memory of Rev. William Ashton Thompson.

Altar desk, given by Misses Hanna in memory of Constance McCook Hanna.

Lectern Bible, given by Mrs. F.W. Pleasance in memory of Margaret Motherive.

Two silver alms basins, given by the Girl's Friendly Scoiety of the Church of the Ascension.

Two silver alms basins, given by Mrs. R.H. Whitlock in memory of Mr. and Mrs. J.F. Cable.

Chapel altar and reredos chapel vases, chapel service banner and roll of honor, given by Mrs. John G. Gordon.

Stands, representing the twelve apostles, and hymnals and prayer books for the pews, given by the Sunday School.

Linens for the church and chapel altars, given by Mrs. William Thimpson, Mrs. Grace MacKay and Miss Clara Kittehofsky



The Rev. Rix Attwood, Rev. Daniel Le Baron Goodwin, and Mrs. C. C. Southern are the three people who have figured prominately inthe history of St. Peter's Church of Lakewood.

Rev. Atwood came to the newly opened High Bridge section of Lakewood in 1907. He had been rector of All Saints church in Cleveland, and established the first Episcopal church in Lakewood, St. Peter's, on Edanola, where the Edanola apartments now stand. The building was an old abandoned church which was purchased and moved. Various contributions of furnishings, including the organ, and even the brass altar cross heloed to equip the church. Twenty-five people were enrolled in the congregation; and the receipts totaled $200 for the first year. Rev. Atwood had his living quarters added to the church and he died in his church residence while the congregation was singing "Abide with Me."

St. Peter's Church was still a litle church in a little neighborhood when the Rev. Daniel Le Baron Goodwin came as its pastor. Uner his guidance, it became one of the prominent churches of Lakewood, and was recognized as an authorized mnission in 1911. After the membership increased, and financial resources increased, a decision was made to build a new church in a more prominent location.

The property selected at Detroit and West Clifton belonged to Mrs. C. C. Southern. Mrs. Southern owned the property at all four courners corners of this intersection and wanted to sell only to those who would erect buildings to beautify the street and be a credit to the neighborhood. She was pleased that her own church wanted to build there and reduced the price considerably.

St. Peter's Episcopal Church was built at its present location in 1927. Rev. Goodwin retired from the parish work in 1940, and was succeeded by the present rector, Rev. Brereton.


LAKEWOOD PRESS -- March 7, 1918, Pg. 11

Less than ten years ago the Rev. W. Rix Atwood, a retired clergyman of the Episcopal faith, caught a vision of the greater Lakewood and founded St. Peter's church on Edanola Avenue. The location which he selected, on which to build the church, has proved unsatisfactory in many ways, the negotiations are in progress now for more strategic location.

The present rector, the Rev. D. Leo B. Goodwin, took charge of St. Peter's January 1, and has begun already to make himself felt upon this community. The evening service has been popularized by the use of teh lantern and special musical features, and the Sunday morning services has been vitalized by plain and direct preaching. The choir is under the efficient charge of Miss Helen Burchurst, and promises much for the future. Miss LaVerne Butts serves at the organ most acceptably. Captain A.E. Kydd, of Clifton Park, has presented the choir with a silk flag which is carried regularly in procession.

The rector has asked for an Easter offering of $1000 to be used as working capital for the parish. The Altar Guild, under the splendid direction of Mrs. W.H. Murch, are working hard and will have many improvements in effect by Easter. Several gifts are expected at that time. The Ladies' Parish Guild, under the presidency of Mrs. A.H. Langell, is doing considerable Red Cross and National Defense work. The Woman's Auxiliary to the Board of Missions is active as are serveral minor societies. The Sunday school under the superintendency of Mr. W.B. James, has doubled within a month. Bishop Leonard has announced that he will visit St. Peter's for his annual confirmation on the Sunday after Easter day. Mrs. Goodwin has just joined her husband and they are living at 1426 Northland Avenue, where they will soon be at home to all parishioners.



St. Peter's church was begun as a mission in April, 1911, with about twenty families represented. A small structure was erected at 1322 Edanola Avenue, which has been enlarged and improved by teh expenditure of $2,000. There is now an auditorium seating 250 people, a basement for Sunday School and social use, and there are 12o families represented in its communicants.

Rev. Rix Atwood was the first rector, and he was succeeded by Rev. J. M. Withecombe, who died after serving the congregation a few months.



W.R. COATES -- Volume I, Pg. 179-180

The German Evangelical Church, of Rockport, was organized by Rev. Philip Stemple of Brighton. He cam to the township on invitation in 1851. When organized, the church included fifteen families. For as many years Re. Stemple preached to the German Protestants of Rockport in a schoolhouse. In the menatime the church had a steasy growth and in 1867 a fine brick structure was built costing in cash $8,000, and with much labor and material donated.

The first pastor in the new church, considered a very fine one in those days, was Rev. Frank Schreck from Wisconsin, and the first trustees were Peter Reitz, William Mack and a Mr. Annacher. Others who have been on the board of trustees are Henry Brondes, Frederick Brunner and george Zimmer. As illustrating the changes in population from the original New England settlers, besides the above, in 1847 the German Methodists organized a church and the following year built a church building. The first class leader of this organization was Valentine Gleb, and the first trustees, William Mack, John Mack and Henry Dryer. Among those who have served as preachers have been Revs. John Klein, Baldaff, Reicher, Berg, Weber, Detter, G. Nachtripp, Budenbaum, Heidmeyer, Snyder, Nuffer, Nast and Borgerdeng, among the trustees have been Valentine Gleb, who also served for many years as class leader, Jacob Knopf, Henry Fryer, Michael Neuchter and Bartlett Stocker.



Pg. 507

In 1851 Rev. Philip Stemple, a preacher of Brighton, was invited to visit Rockport and to organize a German Proestant church, about fifteen families being anxious to join the proposed organization. Mr. Stemple organized the church and for fifteen years afterward preached in a schoolhouse, once in three weeks, to the German Protestants of Rockport. By 1867 the organization had grown quite strong and numerous, and in that year a commodius brick church was built at a cost of $5,000, besides labor contributed by the members of the society. Rev. Franz Schreck, from Wisconsin, was the first pastor after completion of the church. The present pastor is Rev. William Locher and the congregation contains about thirty families. The first trustees if the church were Peter Reitz, William Mack, and ---- Annacher. The present trustees are Henry Brondes, Frederick Brunner and George Zimmer.



In 1851 Rev. Philip Stemple a preacher of Brighton, was invited to visit Rockport and to organize a German Protestant church, about fifteen families being anxious to join the proposed organization. Mr. Stemple organized the church and for fifteen years afterward preached in a school-house, once in three weeks, to the German Protestants of Rockport. By 1867 the organization had grown quite strong and numerous, and in that year a commodious brick church wa sbuilt at a cost of about $5,000, besides labor contirbuted by members of the society. Rev. Franz Schreck, from Wisconsin, was the first pastor after the completion of the church. The present pastor is Rev. Wm. Locher and the congregation contains about thirty families. The first trustees of the church were Peter Reitz, William Mack and ----Annacher. The present trustees are Henry Brondes, Frederick Brunner and George Zimmer.


LAKEWOOD SUN POST, Thursday, March 6, 1980 by Jesse Borocz

John D. Rockefeller gave money, Cyrus Eaton served as minister of Lakewood Congregation.

Two world-renowned figures who have passed on to their reward - oil tycoon-philanthropist John D. Rockefeller and industrialist-humanitarian Cyrus S. Eaton - are closely identified with the founding of Lakewood Baptist Church which, this year, marks its 75th or Diamond anniversary.

Of invaluable assistance to the small congregation in its formative years, was the elder Rockefeller whose offer tomatch "dollar-for-dollar" contributions raised for the building of a church was immediately accepted and resulted in success.

Also of great help to the early church was EAton who volunteered to serve as its lay minister and did so - form December, 1905 to October, 1906 a period of almost a year.

WHAT MOTIVATED two such empire builders and internatinal 'wheeler-dealers' as Rockefeller and EAton to take an interest in the tiny Lakewood church? How is it that such well-known household names are linked with it? The circumstances make for an interesting yarn.

The key individual responsible for the linkage was the late Dr. Charles Eaton, pastor during the early 1900s of the Euclid Avenue Baptist Church where Rockefeller, then a Cleveland resident, regularly worshipped.

A close friendship developed between Dr. Eaton and Rockefeller and when the former learned that his young nephew, Cyrus Eaton, was transferring to Cleveland from Novia Scotia, talked Rockefeller into giving him employment.

Dr. Eaton was also keenly interested in helping the fledgling Lakewood church get started and appealed to both his newly-arrived nephew and longtime friend to pitch in and help. Thus it was that the congregation gained not only financial assistance to build a church but also the services of a lay minister for a year.

(Inccidently, Dr. Eaton later went on to become a U.S. Congregessman and was one of the founders of the League of Nations.)

LAKEWOOD BAPTIST owes its existence to four people who met on Independence Day, 1904, to discuss plans for a new Baptist church in the fast-developing suburb of Lakewood.

A canvass was first made to determine if there was sufficient interest in such a church. The favorable response confirmed the vision of the original four and on Dec. 7, 1904, 28 people signed a petition asking the Cleveland Baptist City Mission Society for assistance in establishing the church.

For $3,000 a lot adjoining Garfield School at Detroit and Grace avenues was purchased the following July and a chapel built in 1906 at a cost of #3,633.

With the growth of Lakewood and the rise of a central business district, church members in 19009 voted to relocate further west. The present property, at Detroit and Lincoln avenues, was purchased in October, 1910, for $5,000.

THE CONGREGATION met in the church basement for worship and church school classes until erection of the sanctuary unit in 1923. The advent of World WAr I and the resulting high prices and inability to borrow money made it impossible to proceed with the muchneeded unit. The basement served the church as its meeting area from February, 1918, until September 1923.

The Great Depression of the '30's hit Lakewood Baptist severly, as it did all churches. At the end of July, 1931, the cash balance was just $9.82 with one unpaid bill of $11.52. By the end of December, 1931, the cash balance was down to $2.91 with $1,077.62 of unpaid bills. Cash in the bank as of January, 1932, was a harrowing 4 cents.

Through those trying times, the congregation prayed and remained ever hopeful. Their prayers were answered and the result was that seven years later, the church mortgage had been pain in full and the future looked much brighter.

Inlater years, the congregation approved the building of a church annex (1953); the renovation of the sanctuary (1965) and the building of an educational unit.

THROUGHOUT ITS history, Lakewood Baptist Church has been concerned for the community and its people. Among its members have been, and continue to be, elected public officials and concerned, active citizens of Lakewood.

The congregation has evidenced a strong concern for home and overseas missions and has assisted in aiding and resettling refugees from World WAr II, and most recently, newcomers to America from Romania, Cambodia and Ethiopia.

The 512 member congregation is affiliated with the American Baptist Churches, U.S.A., and the Cleveland Baptist Assn. The Rev. William Noyes is current pastor.

Ongoing ministeries to the community include worship and Christian education opportunities, a nursery school, counseling services and emergency assistance.

"A warm welcome awaits visitors and members to this open, inclusive congregation as it celebrates its heritage and prepares for the next 75 years," the Rev. Noyes said.



Three More Ready 50-year United Jubliee Event

Starting Sudnay, Oct 2, Lakewood Baptist Church, Detroit and Lincoln will observe the 50th anniversary of its founding. Organized in October, 1905, the Lakewood church has grown from 23 charter members to an active membership of over 900. One charter member is living today and is still a member of the church, Mrs. A. E. Shaw, 19463 Riverview, Rocky River. The site of thepresetn buidling was purchased in 1910, and the basement unit dedicated in1918. The church sanctuary was completed in 1923, and the educational building dedicated in 1953. The present ministry consists of Rev. Livingston H. Lomas, Pastor and Rev. Clinton A. Condict, Associate Pastor.

To Start the Baptist church Anniversary observance, Dr. Ralph M. Johnson, General Director of teh Council on Missionary Coopertion of the American Baptist Convention, will preach the sermon on Sunday, Oct. 2. On Wednesday evening, Oct. 5, the church will hold its Anniversary Banquet; followed by a pageant depicting the growth of teh church through these 50 years. On Sunday, Oct. 9, former ministers will participate in the Morning Worship. Dr. I. N. DePuy, now in Dayton, O., pastor of the Lakewood Baptist church from 1914 to 1926, will read the Scripture and give the Morning Prayer. Rev. Robert N. Zearfoss, now at the Delaware Avenue Baptist Church in Buffalo, and pastor of the Lakewood Church from 1941 to 1949, will preach the sermon. At 3 p.m. the same day, a reception will be given in Fellowship Hall for these former pastors and their wives. All friends of the church in the community are invited.

On Wednesday evening, Oct. 12, another banquet will be held, with an emphasis on the Church School and youth program. Sunday, Oct. 16, at the final 50th Anniversary Morning Worship, Rev. L. H. Lomas is to give the sermon, "In Remembrance," A new memorial lectern and communion table will be dedicated, and the service of the Lord's Supper will be observed.

Serving on the 50th Anniversay committee at Lakewood Baptist church are Arthur J. Hudson, Chairman; Mr. and Mrs. Martin D. Avent, Mason Horton, Mrs. Arthur M. Jones, James Polson, Paul Jones, Miss Maurita McNutt, and Rev. and Mrs. L. H. Lomas.

On sunday evening, Oct. 23, the Church will join with three other Lakewood churches celebrating their 50th anniversaries this year, in a united service at the Civic Auditorium. They are Lakewood Congregational, Lakewood Presbyterian, and the United Presbyterian church.



Dedication of Lakewood Baptist Church's new $100,000 sanctuary will take place during the 10:45 a.m. worship service tomorrow in the church at 14321 Detroit Avenue.

The Rev. Dr. Edwin H. Tuller, general secretary of the American Baptist Convention, will preach at the dedication service.

A balcony, stained glass windows, woodwork, and lighting, were added and the chancel was completely renovated in the three-month project, the Rev. Phillip R. Whitaker, pastor, reports. The congregation also has plans for a new Christian education unit that will house additional classrooms, church offices, a library and the church's youth center.



Celebration of 70 years of activity will be observed by Lakewood Baptist Church on Sunday. The pastor, Rev. Adison J. Eastman, announces that the Rev. Robert Zearfoss will preach at the 10:45 a.m. service.

Rev. Zearfoss was pastor of the church from 1941 to 1949. He is a graduate of Wesleyan University and Colgate-Rochester Theological Seminary and is currently pastor of the First Baptist Church in Evanston, Ill.

He has held many positions of honor inhis denomination and has been active in community affairs.

The service Sunday will be followed by a "Love Feast" which will take the place of luncheon for all the worshipers. It will be patterned after the tradition of the early Christianity in this country, Rev. Eastman said.



Baptists have ever lived in Lakewood thus showing their good sense. there is a report that back in 1850 a Baptist Church was organized here but that it did not flourish and soon ceased to exist. But people who held the doctrines that the Baptists held came to this city and united with the other churches. The movement to organize the present body was started July Fourth, 1904. A group of people from some of the churches in Cleveland were meeting that day and they discussed the advisability of establishing a church of this faith in the growing city of Lakewood. The result of this conference was a canvass of the neighborhood during the winter of 1904-5. On June 5, 1906, there was the first meeting of this body in the home of Mr. and Mrs. Martin, 1508 Highland avenue. A Sunday School resulted from this meeting and Church worship. the first meetings were held in the fall of 1905, in the little chapel back of what is now the United Presbyterian Church on Detroit and Lakewood avenues. In November 1905, a movement - was started to get money to purchase a lot and erect a chapel. This was accomplished and a lot accross from Grace avenue wa sbought and a chapel erected, the same being dedicated April 29, 1906. The same chapel is now in use by Garfield School for its work. It was soon flet that the lot was far to the East so in October 1910 the present lot was purchased on the corner of Lincoln and Detroit Avenues. It was a most fortunate selection as it is so near the geographic center of the city. The effort to erect a new building on the new lot started in 1916 and in April of 1917 the Basement unit of the building was started. This was dedicated February 1918. The plans had been to complete the structure soon but the war conditions made building impossible so that the church worshiped in the basement unit for about four years. The worship unit of the entire structure was started in April 1922 and dedicated with splendid services in September of 1923. There is still a Educational unit to be added to make the plans complete and it is the hope that within a few years this may be accomplished.

The Church has had a steady and firm growth during these years. Starting with but 26 charter members it now numbers over four hundred. Overcoming severe handicaps in the way of lack of building equipment and other hindrances there has been a constant development and since the entrance into the new building the growth has been very pronounced. The church is democratic in organization and this spirit of free democracy characterises the atmosphere of the church.

The Bible School has ever played a large part in the church activities. It is a well graded school. Emphasis on properly trained teachers is revealed in the fact that a Teacher Training Class is in session every Sunday during the school year, taught by Mr. R. O. Carver. From the ranks of these trained leaders come the teaching force. There is a large Men's Class taught by Mr. A. j. Hudson, a prominent attorney of the city. There is also a well attended Woman's Class taught by Mr. George Brugess. Other classes are organized and attend to the spiritual and social needs of the people of all ages. Mr. M. W. Jameson is the successful superintendent of the whole school, with Mr. Charles Alpers as first assistant. Mr. D. W. Blevins is treasurer and Miss Vera Smith secretary. In addition the different departments have their own leaders.

The woman's organization functions large in the church life. It is one organization with two branches, one attending to the missionary work and the other having in charge the social and work featuresof their task. Mrs. F. C. Coulton is the president of the woman's organization, with Mrs. M. W. Jameson as second assistant, Mrs. W. Francis as treasurer and Mrs. Walter Hudson as secretary.

The woman's organization is also divided into four circles for social and other work, and these function well with monthly meetings. The woman have ever done a splendid work for the church. They purchased the fine pipe organ for the church. They are very active in every phase of service and their organization is of great help to the church itself.

The young people are active and well organized. There is an active branch of the World Wide Guild with Miss Florence Powell as president. The B. Y. P. U. has two branches, a senior and a high school section. Mr. Howard Hunie is president of the Senior B. Y. and Mr. George Ogden of the High B. Y. These socities meet on Sunday evening at 6:30 o'clock.

There are seven on the board of trustees, who have charge of all the corporal work of the church. Mr. A. I. Hudson is chairman, and associated with him are Messrs. T. S. Morris, H. T. Sympson, E. E. Bartholomew, Edward Witcraft, R. O. Carver and J. H. Hunie. Mr. Carl Jorgenson is the financial secretary and Mr. B. G. Nix is treasurer.

The board of deacons is composed of seven members with Mr. Henry Reader as chairman. With him are associated Messrs. Joseph Evans, R. W. Buckingham, George Burgess, B. S. Leveen and Mrs. W. Singleton and Mrs. Henry Reader.

There is an educational department of the church of which Mr. R. O. Carver is chairman and this department seeks to correlate all the educational functions of the church. There is a social department also of which Mr. D. W. Blevins is chairman, the aim of which department is to correlate all the social activities of the different organizations into one harmonious scheme of co-operation.

The ushering is a great feature of the church worship, and Mr. A. E. Shaw, assisted by Mr. DeWitt Falls and an able corps of men, take care of this important activity.

The choir is a splendid asset to the church life. Mr. A. M. Jones is the capable leader and Mrs. Carl Wendt the very capable organist. The choir is a chorus one and voluntary in its services, but there is a large proportion of trained voices in its membership and the service rendered is excellent.

The pastor of the church is Rev. I. N. DePuy. He rounds out ten years of service with this body of people on Labor Day of this year. Not alone is he active here, but also in the Baptist work of the city, being at the present time the president of the Cleveland Baptist Association.

The church is unsually favored in the one who cares for the property. Mr. C. J. Wilson serves the church splendidly. For eighteen years he cared for the Euclid Avenue Baptist church, and his service here is deeply appreciated.

The church is conservative in its teaching and belief. It is strong in its adherence to the old faith of the Gospel, but yet is in touch with every present day movement to make the community and world a better place in which to live.




SUN POST 12/04/1980

With its distinctive white front - dominated by six highe 27-foor Doric columns - facing Detroit Avenue, and the large illuminated glass-block cross in Bowers Chapel on the W. Clifton Boulevard side, Lakewood Congregational Church stands out proudly as an architectural gem among churches near and far.

Its beginnings could not have been humbler.

A plain rented hall on Detroit Avenue first served as the worship site for the 27 Christian families that came together in December, 1905, to form the 'First Congregational Church of Lakewood.' Benjamin Williams was their pastor and he was paid $500 annually.

A year later, in 1906, a small chapel was erected on leased land at the rear of Detroit Avenue and W. Clifton Boulevard which was to serve the fledgling congregation for the next 10 years. Pastors in those years were the Revs. Ross Sanderson, Edgar Scovill and George Smith.

THE FIRST UNIT of the present church was built and occupied during 1915-18. In 1918 Dr. Roy Bowers was called and served as senior minister for the next 21 years. His pastorate was one of progress and rapid expansion for the church.

By 1946 the church mortgage had been 'burned' and, under the direction of Howard Meermans, Sunday School superintendent and Merrill Bremer, associate minister, the church's youth education program had grown to be the largest church youth program in Ohio.

In 1949, the Rev. George Drew succeeded the Rev. Everett MacNair as pastor. Four years later, the name of the church was changed to "Lakewood Congregational Church.'

Because of continuing rapid growth which saw the membership rise to 1,685, an educational wing costing $386,000 was added to the church in 1954. The expansion area provided space for the Bowers Chapel, new church parlor, new classrooms and offices.

In 1961 the church membership ratified the merger on the national level of two denominations - Congregational Christian and Evangelical/Reformed, to form The United Church of Christ. Nin years later, the title 'United Church of Christ' was added to the local church name.

THE ENTIRE STRUCTURE of the church's leadership was changed under the leadership of the church's eighth senior minister, the Rev. Donald Morgan who was called in 1971. A new constitution was the result, adopted in 1973.

Dr. Lyman Farrar came from the vice presidency of Lancaster (Pa.) Seminary to become the church's ninth senior minister in 1979.

With Farar's arrival, theminisstry team concept has been introduced in a shared leadership concept of mninistry within the professional staff members. High priority is being placed on the personalizing of ministry and rebuilding the Learning Communities for children adn youth and for persons in the 18-35 age bracket.

Also in 1979, the Rev. Laurinda Hafner was called to be assiciate minister. She became the first prdaoned woman in the 75-year history of the church. A third member of the ministry team is Robert Schneider, director of music ministry.

During post-World War II years, and under the leadership of Dr. Drew, the church reached its peak of membership, almost 1700.

Marjorie Haynes, as the first layperson to serve as a salaried director of Christian Education, gave strong leadership to the church school from 1957 to 1969. During that period, the church school grew to be one of the largest in the Greater Cleveland area.

THE CHURCH'S MUSIC ministry for years has been outstanding inits service to the community and in music education for the membership. Today there are four singing choirs and two handbell choirs.

An active Women's Association with numerous circles, is a vital part of the church's organization. Its fund-raising activities provide resource monies for mission outreach of the church. For older members ther is a Retired Men's Group and Fireside Forum.

Throughout its history, the church has been known for its community service. Its doors have been opened to serving community organizations and recreational groups including scouting, Alcoholics Anonymous, HELP for Retarted Children. The church is a strong supporter of the Lakweood Ecumenical Youth Ministryas well as the Greater Cleveland Interchurch Council.

Church facilities, in addition to the spacious Sanctuary with its Schantz organ and 130 seat Bowers Chapel, include recently refurbished classrooms equipped with visual aids, a youth center, library, church parlor, social hall (also used as an auditorium with stage and as a gym), a two-lane bowling alley, offices, elevator chair for the handicapped and a large paved parking area.

The total church budget is moving toward $200,000 with its proposed 1981 budget, including more than $30,000 earmarked for mission outreach.

"MAKE A JOYFUL Noise" is the theme for the church's 75th Anniversary celebration which opens with a family worship celebration Sunday at 10:30 a.m. and continues with a birthday at 7 p.m. in the social hall. A large cake will carry the anniversary logo.

The party will focus on a Diamond Jubilee theme, with a barbershop quartet, strolling string quartet, toasts to the past, present and future, and fun for all.

Sunday's events will launch a continuing, year-long anniversary celebration which is to include an heritage preacher series (all three former senior ministers returning), an anniversary ball, a theology-in-dialog series on a veriety of concerns including the Christian Faith and Middle East Affairs and the Christian Faith and Family Life.

Also planned are a special music festival arts series, a hymn festival with Erik Routly, the popular 'Yuletide Feaste' in December and a youth musical, "Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat' in March.